Jewish Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Excellent recipe! I added one more apple to the ingredients. It made the house smell so inviting while it was in the oven baking! This one is certain to impress your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Overall taste was very good-nice vanilla flavor to the cake and apples and cinnamon were good sweetness--could have been a bit more apples maybe. My cake (even though I used a rather smallish bundt pan)took a while to bake fully and had a thick crust on the outside--not burned, but a crunchy brown exterior that I don't care for-- it's been my experience so far with tradtional apple cake recipes for the outside to be 'crusty' and I was hoping this one would be different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Limerick Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I tried this after a friend recommended it, and I'm so glad I did! I brought it to the family Thanksgiving dinner, and everyone loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This cake is a hit wherever I bring it. Be careful not to over-bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Subiaco, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This cake was great! I was a bit skeptical because the batter was so heavy, but it turned out fantastic. I made it for a family dinner tonight and everyone loved it! This recipe is a keeper, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANETTYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My daddy has been making this recipes for years. He is 84 yrs young and lives 1500 miles from me. He makes this cake and every time even if youy are making the same recipe with him in the same kitchen, I don't know what he does but his cake is almost always two or three inches above the pan and delicous. Thank You so much for givin me the recipe just like my daddy's. Thank Ya, Bonnie Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dorchester, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made a cake very, very similar to this for years and I've discovered that the apple taste is better with 4 Granny Smith apples, sliced about 1/4" thick. I've sliced them before with my Pampered Chef apple corer/slicer thingy and couldn't taste the apples, so it's better if the apples are sliced thicker, but not too thick. I usually add 1/2 tsp of fresh orange zest to the batter, too, just to take it up a notch, and next time will mix my apple slices with the cinnamon-sugar mixture instead of sprinkling it over the apples. People love this cake, and it smells SO good while it's baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Fantastic recipe. I use the same base ingredients but with cherries. I buy the frozen ones, dry them well and roll them in the sugar and cinnamon. Excellent cherry cake like my Grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
The recipe was very good - although I had to replace the white flour with whole wheat and white sugar with brown sugar and the vegetable oil with butter -(because that's all I had in the pantry) the turn out was great! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
i tried this recipe today and the outcome was a great cake for everyday, next to my morning coffee or evening tea. i did make a few changes-i used only 1.5 cups suger,3/4 cup oil and 1 cup of whole flour+2cups of all purpose flour.enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States