Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janyce
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
If you want the cake a little more moist, decrease flour by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This has to be the best Jewish Apple Cake I have ever had the privilege to taste. It has a wonderful flavor, and is perfect for the holiday season or anytime. MArtha Stewart, eat your heart out! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have known Janyce for over 10 years, her apple cake is the best! She broght it to work to rave reviews on several occasions-you go girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I use about 5-6 granny smith apples and it tasted great. This is my go to recipe during the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wow! Great cake- I've made it 3 times now and it is fantastic!! The only alteration I make is to substitute 1/2 C. olive oil and 1/2 C. plain yogurt for the 1 C. vegetable oil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
YUM! I was just looking for an apple recipe that I already have the ingredients for. Having never tried a Jewish apple cake, I don't have much to compare it to, and I had to adjust it slightly for what was available to me. But here's what I did. First of all, I had a bag of McIntosh apples on hand rather than finding Rome apples. Since they are small/medium apples and not large, I used one or two extra. It came to about 6 cups once sliced and cubed. It wouldn't hurt to use more but this seemed to do the job. I didn't have enough vegetable oil so I melted some margarine spread to use instead and it worked fine. I also doubled the cinnamon and only had a 9x13 glass dish to bake it in. Since it was a different shape, it only took a little over an hour to bake. I didn't even have to use an electric mixer either. Just mixing it with a spoon worked well. It does require lots of dishes but is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limington, Maine, USA
Living In: Gorham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jemama
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Wonderful and easy!! This is a very tasty, not too sweet cake that is a cinch to make. I substituted 1/2 C. of the oil with applesauce and didn't have the dryness problem some reviewers complained of, in fact mine turned out very moist. I also drizzled powdered sugar glaze over the warm cake and it was a nice touch. I didn't have Rome Beauty apples but just used whatever was in my fruit bin and it was great! I highly recommend this recipe, it is a great brunch cake for Spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
FABULOUS!!! I did however take advise from other reviews and subtracted 1/2 of the oil and added applesauce in place of. I will be making this for a long time to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Rave reviews from folks at work and even from my mother-in-law! That is high praise! Great recipe for traditional Jewish Apple Cake. I used about 6 different types of apples, as I had been apple-picking in a huge orchard. Excellent results! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is my first review although I use this site for every recipe. Loved it! Added chopped walnuts to the apple layer mixture for a little texture but otherwise made exactly as described. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States