Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
After our bible study on the book of Esther we had a Jewish celebration. I make the Jewish Apple cake first to try out with some friends, they all loved it and wanted the recipe. So on celebration day it was a hit. "Thanks" for all your help with the recipes and cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jemama
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Wonderful and easy!! This is a very tasty, not too sweet cake that is a cinch to make. I substituted 1/2 C. of the oil with applesauce and didn't have the dryness problem some reviewers complained of, in fact mine turned out very moist. I also drizzled powdered sugar glaze over the warm cake and it was a nice touch. I didn't have Rome Beauty apples but just used whatever was in my fruit bin and it was great! I highly recommend this recipe, it is a great brunch cake for Spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wow! Great cake- I've made it 3 times now and it is fantastic!! The only alteration I make is to substitute 1/2 C. olive oil and 1/2 C. plain yogurt for the 1 C. vegetable oil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is my first review although I use this site for every recipe. Loved it! Added chopped walnuts to the apple layer mixture for a little texture but otherwise made exactly as described. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L Mac
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is the only Jewish apple cake I've ever made, and it was great. I would have liked it a bit moister. When it was hot and first out of the oven it was perfect. Not as moist as I would have liked after it cooled down. I used a rounded top bundt pan, which almost fit all of the batter. I think in a square top pan, it all would have fit. I cut the apples into large chunks. My mom used to use apples, cut in half and then sliced. I think I prefer the slices over the chunks and I'll try this next time. Overall, a fabulous homemade cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was a little dry. This time I'm using apple sauce instead of oil. I'll come back to rate after completion. Recipe is easy and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patssy7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
YUM! I was just looking for an apple recipe that I already have the ingredients for. Having never tried a Jewish apple cake, I don't have much to compare it to, and I had to adjust it slightly for what was available to me. But here's what I did. First of all, I had a bag of McIntosh apples on hand rather than finding Rome apples. Since they are small/medium apples and not large, I used one or two extra. It came to about 6 cups once sliced and cubed. It wouldn't hurt to use more but this seemed to do the job. I didn't have enough vegetable oil so I melted some margarine spread to use instead and it worked fine. I also doubled the cinnamon and only had a 9x13 glass dish to bake it in. Since it was a different shape, it only took a little over an hour to bake. I didn't even have to use an electric mixer either. Just mixing it with a spoon worked well. It does require lots of dishes but is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limington, Maine, USA
Living In: Gorham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This has to be the best Jewish Apple Cake I have ever had the privilege to taste. It has a wonderful flavor, and is perfect for the holiday season or anytime. MArtha Stewart, eat your heart out! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have known Janyce for over 10 years, her apple cake is the best! She broght it to work to rave reviews on several occasions-you go girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janyce
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
If you want the cake a little more moist, decrease flour by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States