Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I only had a 9 inch pan so I used a ramekin in the center and halved the recipe to get the same affect. Came out perfectly! This recipe is dangerously easy. DANGEROUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Next time, I'll use 3tsp of cinnamon instead of 1. Otherwise, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was a wonderful cake. I always have to change recipes just a little to make it my own. Added some cinnamon to the batter and made a streusal topping with oatmeal, brown sugar, cinnamon and some butter. Baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 1 hour. Had some really tart apples and was afraid they might be too tart, but they weren't. Served with homemade cinnamon ice cream and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This brings me back to bed and breakfast mornings at an inn in Cape May. It is wonderful and so easy to put together. Thanks for posting Janyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. Great flavor, perfect texture and baked up nice and high. I have made many Jewish Apple cakes and this one, by far, has been the best. I used a variety of apples, the juice of an orange and home made vanilla extract. I omitted the salt and used sodium free baking powder. I also used Egg Beaters in place of the whole eggs. The base of this recipe is so good that I plan on trying it with lemon and blueberries then maybe almond and fresh cherries.... this recipe is definitely a keeper! **UPDATE** 5 large Rome Beauty apples, peeled, cored, and chopped 3 cups all-purpose flour (used 1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup oatmeal and 1 cup almond flours) 1 teaspoon salt (Skipped) 1 tablespoon baking powder (used sodium free and added sodium free baking soda) 4 eggs (used egg whites) 2 cups white sugar (still working on a good sub for this) 1 cup vegetable oil (used Fat free mayo 3/4 cup and 1/4 cup oil but will use all mayo next cake) 1/4 cup orange juice (fresh squeezed orange) 1 tablespoon vanilla extract I added and inulin fiber powder and chia bran fiber I am loving this cake and how versatile it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very delicious and moist. My husband's family ate the entire thing at Rosh Hashanna dinner! It's now the new "favorite" at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It was heavy and too, too sweet. It also stuck to the new bundt no-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very moist and very good. Not too sweet or spicy and looks so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Janyce, Made this the other day to take to a friend's house. It was awesome! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe!!! D.B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States