Jewel Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
These cookies were a lot of work. Something I try to avoid. There wasn't a lot a flavor which I thought was odd because of the Jello. But, they are absolutely adorable when finished and look very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
These cookies take a while since the dough has to be refrigerated twice, but they look and taste great! The colors look great on a cookie plate, especially when dusted with colored sugar of a contrasting color. I had an easier time slicing them and keeping their shape if they were frozen, then slightly thawed after rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I've been baking for 40 years, and this was the worst disaster in memory. Despite lengthy chilling and great care in following the recipe, the gelatin oozed onto the cookie sheets, creating a gluey, unmoveable mess. Two tins are soaking now, we have nothing but crumbs, and the rest of the dough is being thrown out. Very disappointing and frustrating. The one cookie that I managed to salvage is very pretty, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have this recipe at home and make them every Christmas with red and green jello. They do take time to make but they are well worth it. They are always a big hit at Christmas parties. Never had a problem with jello running/sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These looked and tasted great. I didn't refrigerate them again after rolling - I just used dental floss to cut them, and they were fine. I use parchment paper on the cookie sheets; the cookies never stick, and there's nothing to clean up. (I don't know how one reviewer got a gooey mess - she didn't actually make the gelatin first, did she?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Fantastic! I was in a hurry, so I just mixed everything together (including the jell-o mix), rolled them into balls, and popped them into the oven. They turned out fantastic! Soft and just the right texture. These are definately a keeper! **Added later: These cookies did not stay soft long. I loved them at first; but, a day later (they were in a closed tupperware), they were dry and much less tasty. I reccomend cooking them right before eating, and freeze leftovers.** I added 1 tsp vanilla and an additional 1/3 cup sugar for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This a fun cookie and tastes good. I added 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also used Light Jello. To cut down on chilling time you roll out your dough in between 2 sheets of parchment paper and chill for about 20 minutes in the fridge. Then after you put on the jello, roll it up and put in the freezer for another 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very disappointed in these. The dough tasted great before baking. They do look beautiful, but once baked they taste more like a poptart without the sweetness. Will definitely never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very good, we enjoyed making them! I did as recommended and added some flavorings, vanilla and lemon extracts, then let them chill overnight. I rolled them (to about 1/4") between two sheets of plastic wrap, and froze them before slicing and baking. Darling cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I turned these into Margarita Cookies and made these for a get-together with some friends. I added a few Tablespoons of tequila and a bit more flour and instead using a 6oz box of jello, I used a 3oz box of each lemon and lime jello mixed together. Then I brushed the dough with more tequila instead of water before sprinkling the gelatin. Before I baked them I gave them a light sprinkle of kosher salt. I had a hard time getting some of them off the pan, so next time I will line the pan with waxed or parchment paper. Other than that, they were wonderful. I got great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States