Jewel Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jlyn78
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Fun recipe! I threw mine in the freezer second round and were sliceable in 2 hrs. A little dry with jello and without jelly... But pretty and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very pretty cookies! The dough is incredibly soft, even after refrigerating, but with a sharp knife and reshaping the cookies slightly, they are absolutely gorgeous once baked. I like the flavor from the jello--I used sugar free (what I had in the colors hubs thought I should use), so I am not sure if with sugar jello it wouldve had more flavor or not. Still, very pretty and lovely in the different shades of red and green hubs wanted since these are for Christmas cookie tins. They don't make a lot of cookies, but are easy and I may make more--I have plenty of jello, and they are fun. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Not only were these cookies delicious, and gorgeous to look at, but they were simple and fun to make. I followed this exact recipe, but took the advice and cut them with dental floss. Warning: Do NOT allow the cookies to cool after removing from the oven. Remove them from the pan immediately, because, despite greasing the pan, the jell-o sticks to the pan as it starts to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I turned these into Margarita Cookies and made these for a get-together with some friends. I added a few Tablespoons of tequila and a bit more flour and instead using a 6oz box of jello, I used a 3oz box of each lemon and lime jello mixed together. Then I brushed the dough with more tequila instead of water before sprinkling the gelatin. Before I baked them I gave them a light sprinkle of kosher salt. I had a hard time getting some of them off the pan, so next time I will line the pan with waxed or parchment paper. Other than that, they were wonderful. I got great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Very good, we enjoyed making them! I did as recommended and added some flavorings, vanilla and lemon extracts, then let them chill overnight. I rolled them (to about 1/4") between two sheets of plastic wrap, and froze them before slicing and baking. Darling cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very disappointed in these. The dough tasted great before baking. They do look beautiful, but once baked they taste more like a poptart without the sweetness. Will definitely never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This a fun cookie and tastes good. I added 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also used Light Jello. To cut down on chilling time you roll out your dough in between 2 sheets of parchment paper and chill for about 20 minutes in the fridge. Then after you put on the jello, roll it up and put in the freezer for another 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Fantastic! I was in a hurry, so I just mixed everything together (including the jell-o mix), rolled them into balls, and popped them into the oven. They turned out fantastic! Soft and just the right texture. These are definately a keeper! **Added later: These cookies did not stay soft long. I loved them at first; but, a day later (they were in a closed tupperware), they were dry and much less tasty. I reccomend cooking them right before eating, and freeze leftovers.** I added 1 tsp vanilla and an additional 1/3 cup sugar for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These looked and tasted great. I didn't refrigerate them again after rolling - I just used dental floss to cut them, and they were fine. I use parchment paper on the cookie sheets; the cookies never stick, and there's nothing to clean up. (I don't know how one reviewer got a gooey mess - she didn't actually make the gelatin first, did she?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have this recipe at home and make them every Christmas with red and green jello. They do take time to make but they are well worth it. They are always a big hit at Christmas parties. Never had a problem with jello running/sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States