Jesse's Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Quick simple and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for years. This is nearly the same recipe I had years ago. Although I am very leary of the HOT oven. In know when I made them in the past the oven temp was 325 F. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl Scout Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
these are amazing, but I would never let a nut touch them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was hoping this was like a recipe I used to make. It wasn't. I used enough graham crackers to line the bottom of the pan. It did turn out dry. I also use symphony milk chocolate like my old recipe... makes it super creamy and yummy! Next time I think I will make 1 1/2 times the toffee mixture and see how that works. It was still a big hit at New Years... Just on a little dry, not up to my standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvN2Bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe is very good! I think the key to making sure the bars are crunchy is to boil the sugar mixture until the sugar is completely dissolved. Then cook it in the oven until the center is bubbly. Otherwise you'll end up with a mushy (but tastey!) concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHRISTINE_G
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I couldn't find my recipe that I usually use for these, so tried this one. I agree with the previous reviews, this particular recipe is lacking something. I needed 12 to 13 whole grahams crackers (the kind you break in half), and next time I will add another 1/2 cup of butter as overall, these seemed "dry". In addition, I would reduce the heat to 350 degrees, as mine were a bit burnt at 400. Also, instead of using chocolate bars, I sprinkled some milk chocolate chips on top of the bars immediately after they came out of the oven, then smoothed them out a bit once the chocolate had melted. These are really tasty when they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This did not taste like toffee to me. It was also rather messy to make. I would probably not try this recipe again. It didn't have the crunch that I was expecting, maybe I did something wrong though, not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinsmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made these last year for xmas goodies and they were a big hit. I will definitely be making them again. They are VERY good without the chocolate, too. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Not so great. I'm not sure. Maybe I did something wrong. To me though, they just tasted like graham crackers with chocolate on them. Probably won't make again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Quick, easy & a hit at the office. My husband & I made one batch; there was enough for each to take half to share. We had multiple recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States