Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this last night with fresh veggies from the farmer's market sooooooo good!!! Going to make a triple batch to freeze next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Added more garlic and Italian seasoning. Also added diced beets for color and nutrients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EliskaNatalia
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
It was really great, although more time consuming than anticipated. I did not choose to put carrot or onion in, but everything else was followed as written. It had a hard time getting my tomatoes seedless. I strained and saved the juice out first in a small mesh strainer. Then I strained the rest of the mixture in a colander to get the seeds to fall out but retain the tomato pieces. It worked reasonably well. The few seeds that remained did not affect the overall taste. I am also posting a picture: I may have added too much milk because its more bisque-like. But it was still tomatoey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I skipped the peeling and seeding. I put the tomatoes, carrots and used fresh garlic instead of powdered in my Vitamix. My first time making fresh tomato soup. Excellent. Thinking next time I'm going to make it with coconut milk and coconut half and half for a richer version. Would love to have garden fresh tomatoes year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kline Strahosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this today, and I love it! I doubled the recipe to make 4 pint jars full. The flavor is wonderful. I used tomatoes and carrots from my garden, and as some other people suggested, I added a bit of minced green pepper (also from the garden). My only comment is that it took longer for the carrot to get soft, so I cooked it for an hour instead of a half hour. The result is a delicious, flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was pretty good. It reminded me a bit of the creamy tomato soup I have at a restaurant. I thought it was a bit heavy on the dried basil and black pepper, but otherwise the flavor was great. I didn't have celery salt, so I added a stalk of celery with the veggies. Personally, I thought the finely chopped carrots added an odd texture, and thought I should have pureed them instead. However, DH liked the texture. One thing is that I only got most of the tomato seeds removed. I didn't like having the few seeds that were in the soup, but that's my fault. Overall, it was a nice recipe, which I expected from Shorecook, and I'm sure we'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as written. The flavor was good however I didn't like the use of the flour roux to thicken - it interfered with the fresh taste of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Tomato soup is just OK and I would prefer to not eat it-- but THIS tomato soup I would sneak away alone and eat all of it myself! BTW, husband loved it too as I did share and am now giving your recipe to those in our community garden as we wait for the tomatoes to get ripe. Hope to be able to freeze plenty this year. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
making for the third time today. You can can add any veggie you have. today I'm adding left over grilled bell peppers and zuchinni and I use an stick blender in the pot to save doing extra dishes. Very healthy portion and great way to clean out veggie drawer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
very good, but needs a lot of tomatoes so depending on the season can be relatively expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States