Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I am re-posting my original review dated August 16, 2011: I had a lot of fresh tomatoes that I needed to use, including some super sweet cherry tomatoes and baby romas, so I went about this a little differently. I chopped all my tomatoes and threw them in the pot including the skins, seeds and juices that had accumulated on the cutting board. I sweated them, covered, along with the onions and carrots as the recipe instructs. Then I added the chicken broth, black pepper, basil, celery salt and garlic powder and simmered, again covered, for another hour. I allowed the soup to cool somewhat and pureed it with my emersion blender right in the pot. Then I forced it through a fine sieve, discarding the skins and seeds that were left behind in the sieve. At this point I seasoned it with the sea salt, and less sugar than indicated, because some of my tomatoes were very sweet. Because I intended to freeze this I did not make the roux and add the milk. I will do that step when thawing/re-heating the soup, although I will say, it is delicious just as is. This soup is a wonderful way to highlight the taste of fresh summer tomatoes. The seasonings are perfect, enhancing the tomato flavor without overpowering it. I should note that my photo was taken before adding the roux/milk mixture. Thank you SHORECOOK, and thank your hubby for this wonderful, classic tomato soup! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I sauteed the onion and carrot (plus a mess of fresh minced garlic) in a little butter before adding the tomatoes and chicken broth. I did go light on the sea salt. After it cooked, I ran the soup through the blender for a smooth consistancy. This was a nice tomato soup that paired well with Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches--NO LEFTOVERS. Next time I think I'd use fresh basil and I would omit the celery salt and go with sea salt but really that's a personal preferance, not reflective of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
this is a very tasty soup, thanks Shorecook. I used fresh basil, celery, frozen chicken broth and 2 garlic cloves because I had them in the kitchen. I ate mine with cheese bread and the boys added mini fish crackers-everyone enjoyed it. The sugar is very important to bring out the tomatoey taste and cut some of th of the acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 17, September '11. This was my first attempt at making homemade tomato soup. Wow - is this a great one to start with! The taste of the fresh tomatoes, carrots and onions totally come through with this soup. I used fresh chicken broth instead of canned and I only had 1% milk. Other than those 2 changes I made it as written. I made on Sunday, refrigerated it and we had for dinner on Monday night. Served with cheese toasties, this was the perfect meal on a cold and rainy day. Thanks SHORECOOK for sharing your recipe. RG made a wonderful selection this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this soup in May, 2010, before fresh tomatoes were available. My review follows, as the recipe was unpublished at that time: Really good tomato soup, even though I had to modify by using canned tomatoes in lieu of fresh. Even the so-called tomato soup haters in my house enjoyed this soup! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Shorecook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
SO GLAD that this recipe was going around!!! the only thing i did add garden fresh green peppers and did the whole thing in my huge slow cooker...i used my hand blender to make it smoothe...i made a double batch...will freeze some...but when we had it for dinner (lunch) i made up the roux...FABULOUS and luved it coz i could use all my own fresh garden veggies...thanks shorecook for sharing a great recipe!!! ;o) p.s. i used yellow and orange tiny tomatoes as well as the medium red ones that i had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
There’s nothing I love more than cooking with fresh ingredients, especially when they come from my own garden. I chopped up the entire tomato, skins and all. Once all of the vegetables had cooked, I gave them a good whirl in the blender and pureed until smooth. My soup turned out so thick that I didn’t add any flour. In fact, I had to thin it using tomato juice and water. I attribute that in part to leaving the skin on and perhaps because the majority of my tomatoes were Romas. The soup was excellent! To complete, I topped with grilled cheese croutons and additional sandwiches on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Awesome tomato soup! This is a fantastic recipe to showcase vine ripened tomatoes. I did add fresh basil and a couple cloves of minced fresh garlic also. I served this with garlic bread it was a good accompaniment. So delicious, definitely 5 star, my family just loves it, thanks for sharing your recipe Shorecook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
It's a month before Christmas here in Ontario and I took my last green beefsteak tomatoes off the vine 2 weeks ago and ripened them on the window sill. I used all the ingredients listed but was too lazy to skin and seed them so I did what another reviewer and just chopped and boiled them with everything else. Just before roux time, I pureed it all with an immersion blender and put it through a sieve, added my roux and spices and let it simmer for the hour. Incredible! Can you say comfort food? Nice way to end the Fall season and herald in Winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was the AR recipe of the week selection Sept. 17th. - I've only made tomato soup with canned tomatoes and this is my first from scratch tomato soup. I bought some really big fat plum tomatoes on sale at the market since it is past season for them in my garden. I also have never peeled a tomato so the AR article on the side bar was a great help and worked perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly except added fresh garlic and basil and used my own chicken stock. Was very good and worth the extra work of the fresh tomatoes. I'm sure Jersey would have been even better. Next year I'd like to make with my fresh garden tomatoes and freeze since my tomatoes are at peak when it is hot as blazes out...not soup weather. Thanks Shorecook for a great recipe...we all enjoyed it. Goes great with grill cheese sandwiches. Update: We ate some leftover soup the next day for lunch...was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States