Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This soup is the best. No changes needed. Especially good with garden fresh or frozen tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this recipe tonight but made two substitutions along the way. First, I used two 28oz cans of diced tomatoes because fresh tomatoes in February taste more like wooden table decorations. Next, since I didn't have any celery salt I used celery seed instead. Before adding the rue to the tomato mixture, I used an emersion blender to purée the mix. This was by far THE BEST SOUP I'VE EVER HAD! Great recipe and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very Awesome soup! The only two things I would change are these: 1- Roasted red pepper added to this is excellent. 2- Using fresh or even canned tomatoes is fine, but I like a smoother consistency in my soups, so I chose to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Y U M !!!!!!! Its winter here so i used roma tomatoes from the grocery. Didn't peel or seed-just put them in the food processor to slice and followed recipe. added a little bit of Boursin cheese to melt in at the end. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this soup for our work "Souper Bowl" event. Glad to report that mine was the first one gone of 6 different entries. Delicious soup and so incredibly easy to make. I had 3 fresh tomatoes (it is winter after all) and used those along with home canned tomatoes and a large can of tomato sauce. Eliminated the extra salt, because I truly felt that there was enough in there already. Once everything was cooked to my satisfaction, I did use my immersion blender to make a nice and fairly smooth (left a few chunks for good measure) puree. I also did add some fresh basil along with the dry. Made it last night and warmed slowly in the crockpot at work. Gone by 12:30, it was a hit. Thanks Shorecook for another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved it. I did use 5 cans of diced tomatoes and fat free milk since that's what I had on hand, and 2 tbsp frozen basil from last fall's harvest. At the end I transferred it to the blender in small (2-3 cup) batches and got a nice smooth puree out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This soup was fantastic. I made some adjustments as follows: I used about 4 cups of tomatoes, 3/4 cup carrots, 3/4 cup of onions, 1 cup of chicken broth, 1 1/2 tb of pure sucuant, couple twists of salt, 3 tb of butter, 1 cup of 1% milk, 3tb of whole wheat flour, shakes of dried basil, shakes of black pepper, shakes of garlic powder and garlic salt. I needed to get rid of some other vegetables, so I added fresh spinach and a handful of cilantro in it. This cooked faster because I used less tomatoes, it was awesome!!! I will def cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is excellent tomato soup. I saved this recipe this past summer while we were putting up our very large supply of tomatoes from our garden. I couldn't wait to make it. Well, tonight was the night. The only change I made was to use Lactose Free Whole Milk. Best creamy tomato soup ever! Thanks Shorecook! BTW, I love that there's carrot in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is pretty good but not quite as flavorful as I expected. But I fixed it, at least to my taste, by adding about 2 Tbsp of beef "Better than Bullion" and a Tsp of smoked paprika. That put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy recipe and very tasty. I didn't have enough fresh tomatoes so I forced to use mostly can. It was still amazing! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States