Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious! Have made it twice now this week. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent! The only extra step we added was to blend the soup prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have never been a tomato soup fan until I made this. We have a CSA Subscription with a bountiful variety of tomatoes. I make huge portions, but they never stay around long. I have made it with fresh basil and it's very good. When I freeze large batches, I wait to use the flour/butter/milk addition. I add that when I defrost. I'd like to have a large quantity for the winter time, but unfortunately, as soon as it's seen in the freezer it mysteriously disappears!! Also, I have made it and added a stalk of celery for extra flavor, but take it out before you blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This soup is delicious! My 3 year old kept asking for more - and he *thinks* he doesn't even like tomatoes! I use whatever milk I have on hand and I cut down on the salt because I am sensitive to it. I also use fresh basil instead of dry. I have been looking for a tomato soup recipe that doesn't taste like spaghetti sauce for so long, now I've found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I sauteed the onion and carrot (plus a mess of fresh minced garlic) in a little butter before adding the tomatoes and chicken broth. I did go light on the sea salt. After it cooked, I ran the soup through the blender for a smooth consistancy. This was a nice tomato soup that paired well with Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches--NO LEFTOVERS. Next time I think I'd use fresh basil and I would omit the celery salt and go with sea salt but really that's a personal preferance, not reflective of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful. I threw in some finely diced jalapeno peppers during the boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe and an excellent way to use up garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I've only ever had canned tomato soup. This was my first attempt at making it from scratch and I must say it was the best tomato soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Fresh & delicious--used celery, garlic, carrots and fresh basil--did not peel Roma tomatoes and emersion blender made a nice, smooth ,delicious soup. Ready to make another batch !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I followed the suggestion of some reviewers and didn't seed nor peel the tomatoes. I blended them afterwards and it saved a lot of time as it was already thick so no need to simmer for one hour. I also used fresh celery instead of celery salt. OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! I will NEVER buy canned tomato soup ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States