Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I honestly think this may be one of those rare recipes that you just can't mess up. This was sooooo good!!! Even though I had a few of those uh-oh moments, I couldn't ask for anything better. My first "gotcha" was that substituteded canned tomatoes for fresh. I used one 28oz petite diced and one 28 oz can crushed. This didn't quite equal out to the 7 1/2 cups so I added another 14.5 oz petite diced. It was just a little shy of 8 cups... not too much over. I followed all other instructions exactly. Once everything was combined, I was like- this is good... but too tomatoey. I know, its tomato soup.. but then I realized that the sub'd tomatoes was WAY more than if I had fresh. Off to "The Buzz" I go looking for suggestions, thanks so much to "Sassyoldlady", "sueb", "misskitty", "manella" and "Cheryls cooking now!" for all your suggestions! I added 1 TBS sugar, I sprinkled Basil and onion powder 2 TBS butter and about 1/4 cup milk and let simmer for a few minutes. That fixed the flavor right up! Once it was all done... In used my immersion blender to smooth out the bits of carrts and tomatos. It had a texture I was accustomed to... I was thinking it should be more creamy. The immersion blender didn't quite cut it for me and the sieve made it too liquidy. I put it in on liquefy in the blender and voilà, it was just right. No tiny bits of carrots or tomato and extremely creamy! LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holleymc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phaven
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe turned out to be amazing. I had 7 or 8 medium to large roma tomatoes that I needed to use, and they were too soft for salads, but not yet beginning to rot. I removed the seeds, but didn't bother to peel them. I pureed the tomatoes, onions and carrots in my Ninja blender/food processor before starting them on the stove. Otherwise I followed the recipe closely, aside from leaving out the salt and using a bit more of each spice instead. I just heated the leftovers after they sat in the fridge over night and have to say that it may even be better the next day. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was my first attempt at tomato soup. Great recipe--very fresh tasting! I will definitely make this again. I used beefsteak tomatoes, and followed the recipe pretty much. I ended up with about 8c of tomatoes. I did put fresh garlic in with step 1, used low sodium/fat free broth, skim milk, omitted the sugar and used celery seed (doesn't need more salt) and fresh basil toward the end. It was delicious. It makes quite a bit of soup. Prior to step 2 I put it in the blender and pulsed for a minute or two--not too much as I prefer my soups to be somewhat textured (for lack of a better word) or chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe earlier today. I'm getting over the flu and was craving a hearty soup. I decided to make this recipe and it came out great. I ended up blending it afterwards for a creamy and smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I did blend it after it was done and it had great flavor. It could have used a bit less salt after all was said and done, maybe it's because I didn't use reduced sodium broth. I also used canned tomatoes with a bit of the liquid drained and it was the right consistency. I will definitely make this again, it's got such a full flavor and even though the ingredients are simple, it doesn't need anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Fresh, tasty easy to make. Used my immersion blender because I was too lazy to peel the tomatoes and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
EVERYBODY LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Living In: Bedford, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great comfort food. I added a couple tablespoonsful of parmesan cheese along with the milk while making the white sauce. Sprinkled chopped fresh basil over the top before serving. Deeeelish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wow, this was a really delicious recipe. I didn't really change much at all except I used 1% milk instead. I also can't stand blanching and peeling tomatoes because it is so time consuming, so I just sliced them all up and threw them in the pot and then once everything was stewed, I blended in the blender, then strained in the strainer... it removed the pulp, skins and seeds and made the soup nice and smooth. Then I added the chicken broth, sugar etc. I usually add way more herbs, but I decided to keep it simple to enjoy the taste of the garden fresh tomatoes. I added a bit of cayenne and chili flakes, but that's my personal preference. The soup that resulted was the best tomato soup I have ever eaten. The consistency was to die for. I am making it again tonight because I have another huge batch of ripe tomatoes I need to use! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My first time making tomato soup from scratch. Was delish ! I followed the recipe exact. I used lemon boy tomatoes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States