Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've made this many times, and have frozen it also when making big batches. All I can say is, its wonderful. I generally use whole milk and ground celery seed in mine, just because that is what I have on hand all the time, without any notable difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamler, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This soup is fantastic! The only change I made was to use celery seed and garlic salt instead of celery salt and garlic powder because that is what I had. Best tomato soup I ever had. It took longer to prep because I used smallish tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
DELICIOUS!! won't ever need another tomato soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Amazing. I think it must be the carrot that makes it so good. I am a vegetarian and used veggie stock. Also I did not add salt as between the stock and the celery salt it is plenty salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
For those of you out there who are like me reading this recipe and thinking to yourself "Oh, Ill just use canned crushed tomato/pureed tomato because that's all I have on hand" DONT DO IT! Just go buy the fresh tomatoes! And while you're at it go pick up a pint of heavy cream. The roux with milk was a disaster every time I re-made it and came out chunky in my soup (ew). Looks aside, the flavor was halfway decent. Thick and slightly chunky tomato soup spiced up with chilli powder and a couple dashes of Franks Red Hot sauce in addition to the above seasonings. Made an OK bowl of tomato soup to be paired with my grilled cheese sandwich for tonight's dinner. Any remaining soup will be tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this last night after sitting in the freezing rain at my son's baseball game. Since it was on a whim, I only had canned plum tomatoes. I used two-28 oz. cans and otherwise followed the recipe closely (only subbing celery seed for salt and fresh basil for dried). SO much better than canned soup! I made some parmesan crisps to go along with this. Looking forward to making this soup with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
So tasty! This recipe inspired me to make from-scratch spaghetti sauce this weekend. There were no leftovers for our tomato soup and grilled cheese lunch. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
We’ve never been raging fans of tomato soup but read another reviewer saying she had never been a tomato soup fan either until making this. And then there were the rave reviews and overwhelming number of 5 star ‘loved it’ ratings. We generously give this recipe a 2* rating. Of the four people served this soup, only one finished their small bowl. All agreed of having had better homemade tomato soup. No one had any interest in having more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States