Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
SO GLAD that this recipe was going around!!! the only thing i did add garden fresh green peppers and did the whole thing in my huge slow cooker...i used my hand blender to make it smoothe...i made a double batch...will freeze some...but when we had it for dinner (lunch) i made up the roux...FABULOUS and luved it coz i could use all my own fresh garden veggies...thanks shorecook for sharing a great recipe!!! ;o) p.s. i used yellow and orange tiny tomatoes as well as the medium red ones that i had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Totally loved this! We had a bunch of different kinds of tomatoes in our garden and I used them up in this soup. It was easy to make and it did NOT taste like tomato sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Brama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
hs and loved it. Best we've ever tasted Five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVE this soup! Tastes awesome, however, it was more work than I had anticipated. It took about an hour to peel and chop the tomatoes, plus the stated hour and a half prep & cook time. Next time I'll make a bigger batch and freeze the leftovers so it's not so much work every time we want this tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
There’s nothing I love more than cooking with fresh ingredients, especially when they come from my own garden. I chopped up the entire tomato, skins and all. Once all of the vegetables had cooked, I gave them a good whirl in the blender and pureed until smooth. My soup turned out so thick that I didn’t add any flour. In fact, I had to thin it using tomato juice and water. I attribute that in part to leaving the skin on and perhaps because the majority of my tomatoes were Romas. The soup was excellent! To complete, I topped with grilled cheese croutons and additional sandwiches on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group and it was delicious! I was only making this for myself so I basically just eyeballed the ingredients. I used some tomatoes I had peeled chopped and froze from my garden this last spring. Loved the addition of the carrot, which I've never had in tomato soup. Mine only needed about 25 minutes to thicken since I cut it back so much. Wonderful tomato soup ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Recipe Groupe selection 9/17/11. Being basically lazy, I just rough cut my tomatoes peels and all and added them to the pot with the onion and carrots, which I had grated in the food processor. I omitted the sugar because I felt the carrots would add the needed sweetness and added celery seed instead of celery salt. When this mixture had cooked down I put it back in the food processor until it was almost pureed. I didn't strain it at all because it was too thick. I didn't think it needed any salt but I added a healthy amount of fresh ground pepper and fresh basil and just a pinch of dry thyme and the garlic powder. It turned out so rich and satisfying we thoroughly enjoyed it. I will be hitting the farmers market again this week and if I can score another batch of ripe tomatoes, I'll make the base and freeze it for use on a cold winter night. Thanks, Shorecook, this is another simple but yummy classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
best tomato soup I've had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
this is a very tasty soup, thanks Shorecook. I used fresh basil, celery, frozen chicken broth and 2 garlic cloves because I had them in the kitchen. I ate mine with cheese bread and the boys added mini fish crackers-everyone enjoyed it. The sugar is very important to bring out the tomatoey taste and cut some of th of the acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made this for recipe group this week- I have never liked tomato soup, don't like canned and homemade always seems to taste like I'm eating pasta sauce. I want to like it though so I keep trying and this recipe finally did it for me. Good tomatoes are a rarity here so I used some really tasty ones (also on the sweet side so I left out the sugar) that we picked and canned last year but that was the only change. I made a half batch & used a full quart of tomatoes in their juice. I drained the juice into the pot to simmer the veggies and waited to add the tomatoes after the first 30 min since they weren't fresh. I did run the immersion blender through the jar of tomatoes once since I didn't want tomato chunks but didn't process the soup as a whole. Looking at the recipe, I also just realized that I forgot the salt, but we didn't miss it. I will definitely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States