Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 17, September '11. This was my first attempt at making homemade tomato soup. Wow - is this a great one to start with! The taste of the fresh tomatoes, carrots and onions totally come through with this soup. I used fresh chicken broth instead of canned and I only had 1% milk. Other than those 2 changes I made it as written. I made on Sunday, refrigerated it and we had for dinner on Monday night. Served with cheese toasties, this was the perfect meal on a cold and rainy day. Thanks SHORECOOK for sharing your recipe. RG made a wonderful selection this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I am re-posting my original review dated August 16, 2011: I had a lot of fresh tomatoes that I needed to use, including some super sweet cherry tomatoes and baby romas, so I went about this a little differently. I chopped all my tomatoes and threw them in the pot including the skins, seeds and juices that had accumulated on the cutting board. I sweated them, covered, along with the onions and carrots as the recipe instructs. Then I added the chicken broth, black pepper, basil, celery salt and garlic powder and simmered, again covered, for another hour. I allowed the soup to cool somewhat and pureed it with my emersion blender right in the pot. Then I forced it through a fine sieve, discarding the skins and seeds that were left behind in the sieve. At this point I seasoned it with the sea salt, and less sugar than indicated, because some of my tomatoes were very sweet. Because I intended to freeze this I did not make the roux and add the milk. I will do that step when thawing/re-heating the soup, although I will say, it is delicious just as is. This soup is a wonderful way to highlight the taste of fresh summer tomatoes. The seasonings are perfect, enhancing the tomato flavor without overpowering it. I should note that my photo was taken before adding the roux/milk mixture. Thank you SHORECOOK, and thank your hubby for this wonderful, classic tomato soup! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Awesome tomato soup! This is a fantastic recipe to showcase vine ripened tomatoes. I did add fresh basil and a couple cloves of minced fresh garlic also. I served this with garlic bread it was a good accompaniment. So delicious, definitely 5 star, my family just loves it, thanks for sharing your recipe Shorecook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Once again Shorecook dazzles us with her culinary expertise. This soup is wonderful. The garden freshness of the tomatoes shines through perfectly, the seasoning well balanced. I didn’t have celery salt so I substituted a stalk of celery and used 1% milk because that is what I had. I also used my immersion blender for a smoother texture. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made this for recipe group this week- I have never liked tomato soup, don't like canned and homemade always seems to taste like I'm eating pasta sauce. I want to like it though so I keep trying and this recipe finally did it for me. Good tomatoes are a rarity here so I used some really tasty ones (also on the sweet side so I left out the sugar) that we picked and canned last year but that was the only change. I made a half batch & used a full quart of tomatoes in their juice. I drained the juice into the pot to simmer the veggies and waited to add the tomatoes after the first 30 min since they weren't fresh. I did run the immersion blender through the jar of tomatoes once since I didn't want tomato chunks but didn't process the soup as a whole. Looking at the recipe, I also just realized that I forgot the salt, but we didn't miss it. I will definitely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Made Sept. 20th, 2011 - This is an awesome, solid 5+ star Fresh Tomato Soup! The only changes I made were: Because our garden tomatoes are gone, I used homegrown tomatoes which had been frozen for two weeks, fresh chicken broth, added an additional 1/4 teaspoon of garlic and sprinkled cheddar cheese on each serving. I'll never want to open another can of bought tomato soup. Shorecook - you have a winner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Made this September 11, 2011 before it was published (or at least before I realized it was). Excellent! This is a great way to use up alot of tomatoes from my garden and fortunately i have the privlage of being able to use Jersey tomatoes. I made this with only a few minor changes. I used homemade chicken broth instead of canned, fresh basil and 1 clove of fresh minced garlic. My only question is how did you keep yours in the picture so red mine turned orange when I added the milk? Thanks Shorecook! This is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this soup in May, 2010, before fresh tomatoes were available. My review follows, as the recipe was unpublished at that time: Really good tomato soup, even though I had to modify by using canned tomatoes in lieu of fresh. Even the so-called tomato soup haters in my house enjoyed this soup! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Shorecook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
this is a very tasty soup, thanks Shorecook. I used fresh basil, celery, frozen chicken broth and 2 garlic cloves because I had them in the kitchen. I ate mine with cheese bread and the boys added mini fish crackers-everyone enjoyed it. The sugar is very important to bring out the tomatoey taste and cut some of th of the acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was the AR recipe of the week selection Sept. 17th. - I've only made tomato soup with canned tomatoes and this is my first from scratch tomato soup. I bought some really big fat plum tomatoes on sale at the market since it is past season for them in my garden. I also have never peeled a tomato so the AR article on the side bar was a great help and worked perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly except added fresh garlic and basil and used my own chicken stock. Was very good and worth the extra work of the fresh tomatoes. I'm sure Jersey would have been even better. Next year I'd like to make with my fresh garden tomatoes and freeze since my tomatoes are at peak when it is hot as blazes out...not soup weather. Thanks Shorecook for a great recipe...we all enjoyed it. Goes great with grill cheese sandwiches. Update: We ate some leftover soup the next day for lunch...was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States