Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is pretty good but not quite as flavorful as I expected. But I fixed it, at least to my taste, by adding about 2 Tbsp of beef "Better than Bullion" and a Tsp of smoked paprika. That put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy recipe and very tasty. I didn't have enough fresh tomatoes so I forced to use mostly can. It was still amazing! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
love this soup!! I made a few changes: 1) left ou carrots 2) used only 1 tsp salt 3) used 1/2 cup of half and half instead of 1 cup milk 4) used fresh basil 5) left out celery salt and pepper and it was perfect for me Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was just OK, my husband said he preferred canned, won't be making this again. :'(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Easy to make and absolutely delicious! The tomatoes are truly the star of this soup. I used the new immersion blender I received for Christmas and the texture was smooth as can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was so much better than anything that comes from a can! Instead of peeling, seeding, and chopping my tomatoes, I put them into the blender and made a tomato purée. I used 2 cups of homemade chicken broth (instead of canned), left out the sugar and used about 2 Tbsp of butter, maybe a little less. This soup was delicious, probably my new favourite homemade tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good soup, but more of a vegetable flavor than tomato. I used a immersable blender to make the soup creamy and didn't need to cook it for the extra hour. It was ready within 10 minutes of adding milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I used a 28oz can crushed tomatoes (sorry, it's almost December), and halved the rest of the ingredients. I ran almost everything through the food processor, then cooked it. And to save on dishes, I melted the butter in the microwave, mixed the flour in, then threw that all in the food processor with the milk. I added it directly to the hot tomato base without cooking it first and it was fine. It made plenty for 3 adults and everyone loved it. I added tuna melts on the side and it made a great and simple weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
It's a month before Christmas here in Ontario and I took my last green beefsteak tomatoes off the vine 2 weeks ago and ripened them on the window sill. I used all the ingredients listed but was too lazy to skin and seed them so I did what another reviewer and just chopped and boiled them with everything else. Just before roux time, I pureed it all with an immersion blender and put it through a sieve, added my roux and spices and let it simmer for the hour. Incredible! Can you say comfort food? Nice way to end the Fall season and herald in Winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! I have been searching for a recipe that is similar to our local cafe and this is it. A few changes were made: No need to peel or seed tomatoes. After cooking tomatoes, carrots and onions, process them in a food processor and proceeded with the recipe. it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States