Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a tasty and fresh soup. I received a bunch of tomatoes from a friend's garden that were perfect for this recipe. I wasn't sure how I would feel about the carrots but they added the perfect amount of sweetness to balance the acidity of the tomatoes. I was lazy and didn't peel the tomatoes but my immersion blender took care of the peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Insanely good. I didn't change the ingredients but the order of cooking. I sauteed the onion and carrot in the butter/olive oil...About 1T of each. When soft I added 2T of flour cooked for about a minute. Added the chicken stock then tomatoes all the spices. I used tomatoes from my garden so I only used 1tsp of sugar and that was plenty you will need to adj that amt based on the sweetness of your tomatoes. Cooked for 35 min, let cool for a few min added 1 cup FF half and half then used the emersion blender until smooth. Super super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 00Angela00
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I rated it as a 5 star for a vegetable soup, but if you're looking for a traditional tomato soup (like grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup) than this isn't quite it. As for the soup itself it was very yummy. We only use almond milk at our house and it still came out great. Made everything else exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Excellent and EASY! I didn't have carrots, so I left them out and it was still very good. My picky kids even dipped their grilled cheese sandwiches in it! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I thought this was really good! I made it with almond milk instead of milk (we don't do milk) and veggie broth, and it was delicious! For the basil, I picked basil from our garden, and the tomatoes were from our garden as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used canned tomatoes , love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made my mom this soup because she was sick, and she loved it! my mom persuaded my dad to try it, even though he heavily dislikes tomatoes, and I was suprised to find that he enjoyed it. I highly rate this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I used canned tomatoes because they are not in season now and this soup was delicious. I can't wait to try with fresh tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious, fresh flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good, but will keep searching for a tomato soup that is more bisque-esque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States