Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
We’ve never been raging fans of tomato soup but read another reviewer saying she had never been a tomato soup fan either until making this. And then there were the rave reviews and overwhelming number of 5 star ‘loved it’ ratings. We generously give this recipe a 2* rating. Of the four people served this soup, only one finished their small bowl. All agreed of having had better homemade tomato soup. No one had any interest in having more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am a vegetarian and made this soup using unsweetened almond milk and vegetable broth. It was very good and my two boys both liked it. I thought it was a little sweet and if I make it again, I will omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It was good and fresh. Next time I make it, though, I'm going to totally blend the tomatoes and onions in my Cuisinart. Needed to be a smoother texture than it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
WOOOHOOO!!! Score! I am going the vegetarian route and this soup just looked so good I had to try it. I did modify a bit hoping it would turn out and it sure did!!!! I chopped up two large carrots and 1 good-sized onion. I boiled all that in 2 cups of chicken broth for half an hour and then blended it totally in my Vitamix. I then poured it back into my soup pot and added 2 cans (15 oz each) of tomato sauce-a Sams club oops that I've been trying to use for the last 6 months!!! I added 1.5 c of homemade almond milk (not sweet like the store-bought kind) and added the seasonings, leaving out the salt, sugar, butter and flour. WOW!!! I am going to make this again, doubling the batch for freezing (leaving out the almond milk) because it is awesome and will make such a beautiful quick meal when I need it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was delicious! I ommitted carrots (don't like, didn't have) but followed thr recipe closely except for that. Maybe aseasoned it up a bit more but the basic recipe is a 5-star for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I honestly think this may be one of those rare recipes that you just can't mess up. This was sooooo good!!! Even though I had a few of those uh-oh moments, I couldn't ask for anything better. My first "gotcha" was that substituteded canned tomatoes for fresh. I used one 28oz petite diced and one 28 oz can crushed. This didn't quite equal out to the 7 1/2 cups so I added another 14.5 oz petite diced. It was just a little shy of 8 cups... not too much over. I followed all other instructions exactly. Once everything was combined, I was like- this is good... but too tomatoey. I know, its tomato soup.. but then I realized that the sub'd tomatoes was WAY more than if I had fresh. Off to "The Buzz" I go looking for suggestions, thanks so much to "Sassyoldlady", "sueb", "misskitty", "manella" and "Cheryls cooking now!" for all your suggestions! I added 1 TBS sugar, I sprinkled Basil and onion powder 2 TBS butter and about 1/4 cup milk and let simmer for a few minutes. That fixed the flavor right up! Once it was all done... In used my immersion blender to smooth out the bits of carrts and tomatos. It had a texture I was accustomed to... I was thinking it should be more creamy. The immersion blender didn't quite cut it for me and the sieve made it too liquidy. I put it in on liquefy in the blender and voilà, it was just right. No tiny bits of carrots or tomato and extremely creamy! LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holleymc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phaven
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe turned out to be amazing. I had 7 or 8 medium to large roma tomatoes that I needed to use, and they were too soft for salads, but not yet beginning to rot. I removed the seeds, but didn't bother to peel them. I pureed the tomatoes, onions and carrots in my Ninja blender/food processor before starting them on the stove. Otherwise I followed the recipe closely, aside from leaving out the salt and using a bit more of each spice instead. I just heated the leftovers after they sat in the fridge over night and have to say that it may even be better the next day. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was my first attempt at tomato soup. Great recipe--very fresh tasting! I will definitely make this again. I used beefsteak tomatoes, and followed the recipe pretty much. I ended up with about 8c of tomatoes. I did put fresh garlic in with step 1, used low sodium/fat free broth, skim milk, omitted the sugar and used celery seed (doesn't need more salt) and fresh basil toward the end. It was delicious. It makes quite a bit of soup. Prior to step 2 I put it in the blender and pulsed for a minute or two--not too much as I prefer my soups to be somewhat textured (for lack of a better word) or chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe earlier today. I'm getting over the flu and was craving a hearty soup. I decided to make this recipe and it came out great. I ended up blending it afterwards for a creamy and smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States