Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I just made two gallons of this soup (actually, it's still reducing on the stove) and it's fantastic. Hardly changed a thing except using fresh garlic. Love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious. I shared with a few friends and they all asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
SO GLAD that this recipe was going around!!! the only thing i did add garden fresh green peppers and did the whole thing in my huge slow cooker...i used my hand blender to make it smoothe...i made a double batch...will freeze some...but when we had it for dinner (lunch) i made up the roux...FABULOUS and luved it coz i could use all my own fresh garden veggies...thanks shorecook for sharing a great recipe!!! ;o) p.s. i used yellow and orange tiny tomatoes as well as the medium red ones that i had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Totally loved this! We had a bunch of different kinds of tomatoes in our garden and I used them up in this soup. It was easy to make and it did NOT taste like tomato sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
hs and loved it. Best we've ever tasted Five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVE this soup! Tastes awesome, however, it was more work than I had anticipated. It took about an hour to peel and chop the tomatoes, plus the stated hour and a half prep & cook time. Next time I'll make a bigger batch and freeze the leftovers so it's not so much work every time we want this tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
There’s nothing I love more than cooking with fresh ingredients, especially when they come from my own garden. I chopped up the entire tomato, skins and all. Once all of the vegetables had cooked, I gave them a good whirl in the blender and pureed until smooth. My soup turned out so thick that I didn’t add any flour. In fact, I had to thin it using tomato juice and water. I attribute that in part to leaving the skin on and perhaps because the majority of my tomatoes were Romas. The soup was excellent! To complete, I topped with grilled cheese croutons and additional sandwiches on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group and it was delicious! I was only making this for myself so I basically just eyeballed the ingredients. I used some tomatoes I had peeled chopped and froze from my garden this last spring. Loved the addition of the carrot, which I've never had in tomato soup. Mine only needed about 25 minutes to thicken since I cut it back so much. Wonderful tomato soup ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Recipe Groupe selection 9/17/11. Being basically lazy, I just rough cut my tomatoes peels and all and added them to the pot with the onion and carrots, which I had grated in the food processor. I omitted the sugar because I felt the carrots would add the needed sweetness and added celery seed instead of celery salt. When this mixture had cooked down I put it back in the food processor until it was almost pureed. I didn't strain it at all because it was too thick. I didn't think it needed any salt but I added a healthy amount of fresh ground pepper and fresh basil and just a pinch of dry thyme and the garlic powder. It turned out so rich and satisfying we thoroughly enjoyed it. I will be hitting the farmers market again this week and if I can score another batch of ripe tomatoes, I'll make the base and freeze it for use on a cold winter night. Thanks, Shorecook, this is another simple but yummy classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
best tomato soup I've had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States