Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this wanting to not have it too dry, so I used an entire can of chicken broth, and added a bottle of dark beer and the water from the beans. I also added a small can of chopped chilis and omitted the red bell pepper. The end result was a bit more like soup than chili, so I made rice and layered the chili on top of the rice in the bowl. I then added the garnishments (shredded sharp chedder cheese, advocado, cilantro and sour cream) and OMG, how delicious! The tenderloin 2" thick slices didn't really break up while cooking but I broke most of them myself in the pot into big chunks, and the meat easily broke up further in the bowls. I WILL make this again omitting only the chicken broth, which I assume will make it thicker and I will try it over chips, as I had originally intended to tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was really a great recipe. Super easy to make. Didn't have black beans so I used 2 cans of pinto beans instead. Used a can of roasted tomatoes and a small can of green chilis instead of salsa. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great Recipe, Like all recipes, I used this as a guide and added, 1/8# of bacon, substituted one of the black bean cans with pinto beans, added garlic, a serano pepper, omitted the broth and added one bottle of dark beer. Cam out perfect liquid was...and was Wonderful in flavor. Thanks valley Girl for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I made this using a bag of black beans that I slow cooked, (not from a can). I did not have the bell peppers, but this was still a very good chili. I also used a pork roast - a cheaper cut, since this was to be slow cooked (save yourself some money and purchase a cheaper cut, it will still come out just as good and tender). I actually slow cooked the pork roast the previous day for BBQ pork sands, and I saved half of that pork (minus the BBQ sauce) and used the left-over's for this chili by adding it the last 30 minutes of the cooking time. This chili was amazing, and easy peasy. I have a family of 6 and big eaters, but because I used a bag of black beans, and a cheaper cut of pork this chili is super easy on your budget, especially if you need to feed a crowd. We had more than enough to freeze for another meal - which even further stretches your grocery budget. This chili is very economical and I LOVE that! I served this with "Grandmothers Buttermilk Cornbread", and I will more than likely use the rest of this left over chili in burritos for our next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Good and easy, but I did find that it needed more flavor, so I added garlic salt, doubled the chili powder and cumin, also some cayenne pepper. Toppings are important, I believe - shredded cheese, sour cream, scallions, and avocado. Some cilantro would have been a nice garnish as well. Family said they really enjoyed it and would eat again. There are so many recipes out there that I may try something else next time, but I am happy I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent chili and so super easy! I used a pork roast and shredded it up after it was cooked. Doubled the recipe and used one jar salsa verde and one regular salsa. It was a big hit at a small get together of friends. Hubby also enjoyed this the next day after it had thickened up as burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
followed some advice from the reviews. use pork lion roast. bottle dark beer. scoup of peanutbutter. used 3 bullion cubes instead of broth. delicious served over white rice with medium cheddar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This chili is great! I tweeked it just a bit by browning the pork with garlic and adding Jalapeno pepper to the beans. My husband keeps coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
OMG...SO GOOD!!! I have a chili that I make in the slow cooker that is AWESOME and hard to beat and I think this one might BEAT IT OUT!! With not that many ingredients...it's delicious and perfect for the busy mom!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good. Threw in a can of Rotel just to give it a little kick since all I had was mild salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States