Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used the recipe as inspiration for the ingredients I had on hand and it is super tasty. (My changes - generous amounts of mexican seasoning blend, and chili powder. A whooole lotta garlic, big fat cloves sliced up. Pinto beans with jalapenos. Fire roasted tomatoes with adobo seasoning. Chopped fresh pasilla pepper as well as the red pepper. Fresh chopped serrano peppers.) Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
wow, awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This came out better then I thought it would. I made a few substitutions. I used 1.5 lbs of pork shoulder cubed up, green pepper instead of red, substituted a bottle of beer for the chicken broth, and added a can of chopped chili peppers. I also drained the beans as I don't think bean juice adds to any recipe. My local grocery store sells a really delicious chipotle salsa that I used. About halfway through the cooking I was worried the pork wouldn't be tender enough, but when I went to shred it a few hours later it just fell apart. Added a few dashes of hot sauce at the end for heat. This is going into the winter soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely loved it! So simple but the flavors are fabulous! I too doubled the spices and the chicken broth and it was the perfect amount of liquid. My husband went back for 2nds, which he never does except for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
my wife loves it and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something. Like diced or crushed tomatoes, or something like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious! I follwed the recipe exactly, using a 1.7lb pork tenderloin and slow cooking for 9 hours. I loved the southwest flavors and the pork was so tender, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious, was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe! I did not use salsa or chicken broth. Instead, I used a whole bottle of beer, a 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes, and a small can of green chilies. Next time I will buy a bigger can or two cans of chilies and cut back to 2 cans of beans. I like meat/bean ratio to be in favor of the meat! I also used a pork loin that was frozen and it worked great. I did remove the pork first and scraped the fat off before shredding. I also plan on using the leftovers as a burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This here recipe deserved to win! It's filin', hearty and tasty to boot! I recommend it heartily! Dont forget hem taters on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger

Displaying results 121-130 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States