Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I thought this dish was bland, and I'm not one who likes a lot of spice. If I decide to make this again, I would definitely add some green chilies and add a lot more chili powder and/or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I had more meat and less black beans than the recipe called for so I made my necessary changes. I doubled the spices because of the meat and I added 1 can of corn to offset the missing beans. I also added 1 can of Ro-tel tomatoes with green chilis as I didnt have enough salsa for a double recipe. I would have made this as if I had all the ingredients but for a meal out of the pantry this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great recipe! I haven't made it as stated because I just used what I had on hand. I substituted 1lb dried great northern beans for the black beans and used an entire box of chicken stock. I also added green chiles and salt. Seriously good. This will go in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Has an unusual flavor and texture....really good. Not hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is delicious. I read reviews and added beer and tomatoes and green chilis. Next time I'll try it with hot salsa instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I loved how simple it was! I liked it a lot and ate two bowls. My girls only gave it a 5 or 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 though, they just thought it was okay. But I was pleasantly surprised and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe did not disappoint! I made it as the recipe written except that I used green bell pepper instead of red. The recipe does not indicate that the black beans be drained but after researching whether or not black beans should be drained I decided to drain them. (The video for the recipe does say to drain them.) After 40 years of never draining beans for chili's I have made I decided to drain the beans for this and am glad I did. As often with crock-pot cookery the dishes look like they need more liquid than they do and in the end I tend to wish that I had not added any additional liquids because more then enough comes from the vegetables and meat as they cook. As someone else suggested I served this over cilantro lime rice with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. I read that many people add some beer to this recipe. I'm sure it has a great flavor but the recipe will be more soup like rather than stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Used sirloin pork roast, cut into cubes, floured and browned, added about 1/4 c dry red wine and can green chilis, also mixed beans: black, pinto and chili, simmered on stove all day. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
More spice. More cooking time (closer to 10 hrs)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States