Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I loved how simple it was! I liked it a lot and ate two bowls. My girls only gave it a 5 or 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 though, they just thought it was okay. But I was pleasantly surprised and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe did not disappoint! I made it as the recipe written except that I used green bell pepper instead of red. The recipe does not indicate that the black beans be drained but after researching whether or not black beans should be drained I decided to drain them. (The video for the recipe does say to drain them.) After 40 years of never draining beans for chili's I have made I decided to drain the beans for this and am glad I did. As often with crock-pot cookery the dishes look like they need more liquid than they do and in the end I tend to wish that I had not added any additional liquids because more then enough comes from the vegetables and meat as they cook. As someone else suggested I served this over cilantro lime rice with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. I read that many people add some beer to this recipe. I'm sure it has a great flavor but the recipe will be more soup like rather than stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Used sirloin pork roast, cut into cubes, floured and browned, added about 1/4 c dry red wine and can green chilis, also mixed beans: black, pinto and chili, simmered on stove all day. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
More spice. More cooking time (closer to 10 hrs)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Loved this! Was so yummy and easy to make. This is now one of my families favorite dishes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is so delicious and pretty easy to make! I did these minor variations: used pork loin, I had a 1.11 lb roast and cubed it. I only had 2 cans of black beans and I used those and substituted a can of hominy for the 3rd because the flavors mesh well. It was delicious. Since I cooked it overnight and woke up smelling it, I used for an omelet filling Sunday morning, sprinkling it with a little cheese and chopped fresh tomato. Yum, what a great versatile recipe. I thank you for passing on your Aunt Jerre's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So easy, and so flavorful. I didn't make any changes. I can see that depending on your favorite salsa, it can take on different tastes. Used the cilantro flavored La Victoria. Keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this three times in as many weeks!! Super recipe! While it is PERFECT as is, I have noticed that the salsa you use is very important (use a good one). I added a fresh jalapeno for some more heat, but this recipe is fabulous! I have shared it many times, already! Thanks for sharing this award winning recipe (I see why it did so well)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoeLucky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I used what I had on hand (some slight variations) and it turned out lovely! Hubby really liked it too - thanks so much! p.s. I ate it with sour cream and some doritos - YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My family, including kids, really liked this. I used a mild salsa and found I personally would have liked more spice, but it was perfect for children. You could easily increase the heat with a different salsa. I did not drain beans and it was soupy so served over rice. I didn't even add the broth. I added 1 can of mild chiles and some garlic, per other suggestions. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States