Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Have made this several times now for family gatherings, everyone raves. I've changed it a bit each time and came up with the perfect combo. I add a 4oz can of green chilis, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 green pepper, and a cup of frozen corn. My aunt won't let me visit unless I am bringing some. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
A different kind of chili but we liked it. I will add more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I had some pork stew meat that I bought on clearance that I used in this recipe instead of a pork tenderloin (I am a mom on a very tight budget!). I did double the meat in this recipe only because I had two 1 1/2 pound packages that I needed to use. I tossed the stew meat with a little flour and the spices, then quickly browned the meat in a little EVOO before adding it to the crockpot. The recipe didn't specify which kind of salsa to use so I used salsa verde. This is cooking away right now--smells amazing. I'll update my review once we've had a chance to eat it. EDITED: VERY good. I liked this quite a bit. Next time, I think I'll add more red pepper and add a little more spices, maybe some fresh garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Something was missing in this recipe, just not sure what. Awfully expensive meat to be slow cooking it. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S-Zirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
this was awesome. i made it as written (but omitted the red pepper because i forgot to buy one) and it was so delicious. even better the second day - thickened up and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made a version of this based on what I had which ended up being leftover thick cut pork chops with the bone. I simmered the pork chops on low until they fell of the bone. De-fatted the broth and used that broth instead of chicken. I didn't have salsa on hand but used two large tomatoes and added garlic and a bit more cumin. Awesome. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sss1111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is the absolute best Chili. I used hot salsa when I made it. It was a great change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Delicious! I used pork roast, green salsa, and did not drain the beans. Great with sour cream, cheese, and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Needed more flavor, so I doubled the chili powder and cumin, and added some cayenne pepper. A 4.5 that we will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
delicious - makes a ton. I pureed my salsa out of personal preference for no chunks, and added some corn as well. Served over rice, with cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States