Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I'm writing a "Pre-Review" because I changed things up a bit due to on hand ingredients and review suggestions I warped into my own version. I will edit this after dinner tonight :) I had a 15oz Peppercorn Tenderloin so I scaled the recipe to 5 servings (but it looks more like 6-7 to me)and cubed the meat into small pieces. I used 3/4 of a red onion, 3/4 of a yellow bell pepper, 1 can of black beans, 4 small chicken bullion cubes, 2 cups plus one can (bean can) of water, 1 1/2 cups medium salsa, 1/2 cup salsa verde, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1 1/4 tsp chili powder. I am cooking this on high for 4 hours and will transfer to stove-top if not done at that time. With fewer ingredients and higher temps I don't foresee a problem as this has worked for me with many slow cooker recipes over the years. Looking forward to updating tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wow! Tasty, easy, versatile, and diabetic friendly. What else can you ask for? This has to be the most successful crock pot recipe I have ever seen. It's not only ridiculously easy to make, it's ridiculously delicious! I made it as written with the single variance of adding a small can of green chilies. There are so many ways you can riff on this basic recipe, you can make it once a month for a year and never repeat the same meal. Inwouldngive it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Just started a pot of this wonderful and versatile chili in my slow cooker! I like to start with the recipe as written and tweak the spices as it cooks. This is my favorite "leftover lunch"! Everyone in the break room takes notice when I reheat it in the microwave! I like to add Greek yogurt or ff sour cream to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mermaid62

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This soup is tasty, but it's not really that special. It's just a standard black bean soup recipe with pork added. Very nutritious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Hearty and delicious on a crisp day, and quick and easy to put together. I added a bit of heat and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was wonderful...I am on a special diet, with intake of 100 calories/meal (5 times a day)...I loved this. Actually my whole family loved it...the flavor was wonderful. I did use tenderloin, calorie count was lower, and since my son doesn't like peppers (substituted chopped celery...for fiber and fill). My brother came back for seconds. note: for everyone else I made packaged Mexican rice...for me, just this chili was enough. Added garlic powder(my favorite flavoring)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was delicious! Not quite as thick as a traditional chili, but I didn't mind that. If you wanted it thicker, you could drain the beans or leave the chicken broth out, but I liked it the way it was and thought it tasted even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was a nice dish. The only change I made was to use chili flavored can tomatos and 1/4 cup diced jalapenos because I didn't have any salsa on hand. I will make again but will use hot salsa as mine needed more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
DEEEELICIOUS! Started it this morning for tonight's dinner. Didn't have any chicken broth, but had enough liquid in it that I felt it didn't need it anyway. The pork pulled apart very easily, and we ate it on tortillas--some corn, others flour. I'm recommending this recipe to my friends/family! Give Aunt Jerre my thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States