Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love this recipe it was great my kids love it also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My family loved this recipe. Of course I had to doctor it up as suggested in several reviews. Instead of 3 cans of black beans, I used 1 can black beans, 1 can pinto beans and 1 can spicy chili beans. I also added a 1/2 cup of beer, green chilies, garlic, diced tomatoes, dried cilantro and a little "Frank's Red Hot Sauce". Topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream. Wonderful flavor and not too watery. The only thing I would do different is I would break up the pork about an hour before serving to blend the flavors into the pork. Our 7 year old daughter says "that chili is awesome". My husband added some chopped jalapenos and extra hot sauce. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very good!! I added a can of tomatoes and could've added a second But it was quite a tasty chili and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
OK, I don't know what went wrong because I followed the recipe exactly and this dish was extremely bland and quite dry --there was nowhere near as much gravy as in the pictures. But I can't for the life of me figure out what might have gone wrong; this recipe sounds quite straightforward and pretty much foolproof. Perhaps it would have been less dry if I hadn't drained the beans (the video specified they had to be drained), but even then, it tasted so bland that I had to add tons of hot sauce and salt to make this dish half palatable. I just don't get the raving reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I have made this chili about 10 times now, and the whole family loves it! Sometimes I use the canned black beans, but sometimes I soak black beans and they work great too. I usually add a little more onion than it calls for. It is a great chili recipe. It is not really SPICY so my little kids like it too. You can make it spicy if you want though, but I think it would cover up the delicious taste of the pork and the beans. I use pork loin, and not the tenderloin...but I have also used pork country style boneless ribs. It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was so bland, I don't understand why people are raving about it. After four hours I tasted it and poured in half a bottle of beer. It didn't make it much better but at least now I didn't care so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The flavor was good on a cool rainy day but I gave it 3 stars because the nutritional data seems so far off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randi
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We used mango lime salsa Hot Mexican-style Chili Powder. Also added a can of green chilis. So easy and so good! I assembled it in less than 15 minutes before I left for work and came home to a wonderful aroma and great meal. Served with Chipotle Copycat Cilantro/Lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and it was a huge hit! I actually cooked in my big pot on the stove and then transferred it to the crock pot when we left the house. I added more chicken broth and some roasted green chili's to it. Will be one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
OK this recipe is ridiculously good. The kind of slow cook that you have to "taste check" every 10 mins or so. Great base for other things...tonight I'm putting it on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States