Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We LOVED this recipe. I added a can of diced green chilis, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. It was super easy to throw together before heading to the office and ready when we got home. I can see us using this recipe often now that it's getting chili... oops, CHILLY out. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We liked this. I followed this recipe exactly, except I swapped one can of beans for corn. The recipe didn't specify whether I should drain the beans, so I didn't. It turned out pretty good. There is a LOT of meat in this. If you want to cut costs, this can be a much less expensive recipe if you cut down a half pound of meat, and perhaps add a can of diced tomatoes. Also, others recommended using pork loin instead of tenderloin - at half the price, I might try that next time - I just wanted to stay true to the recipe this first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and i can say it was missing something i made it exactly to the recipe and im sorry but i thought it tasted like nursing home food with a slight kick i won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is the best chili I have tasted. I followed the directions exactly except I put in less chili powder to keep it more mild for the family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is the best chili recipe I have ever tried! I loved it. I used all of the ingredients listed, but only had one pound of pork tenderloin, so after it cooked for a few hours, I added some store-bought frozen beef meatballs. I also added 1 can of hot Rotelle tomatoes. It was a bit too spicy for my son, but my daughter and I loved it. Next time, I will use the mild Rotelle so my son can enjoy it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delicious! The house smelled amazing when I got home from work. Like many reviewers, I used pork loin instead of tenderloin. When you are slow cooking like this, you can often use cheaper cuts of meat, since the low and slow heat tenderizes just about anything. Even after shredding the pork, I felt the consistency was more like a stew than a chili, but I was actually happier with that result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is the BEST slowcooker chili recipe you will taste. I use "fire roasted" salsa, and I have made this chili twice: once with chunks of beef and last night with ground turkey. It was fantastic both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Served to the inlaws tonight for dinner and it was a hit! I followed others advice and added a can of green chilies, a minced garlic clove and frozen corn. Shredding the pork with two forks at the end definitely thickened it up. I also served it with the cilantro and lime rice topped it with a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I cut the tenderloin into cubes. I did drain the beans because I read it cuts down on the "gas factor". Next time I will but the meat into strips. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Even the kids ate it! I did not rinse the beans - I think the natural thickening agents from that liquid helped with consistency. The pork was wonderfully tender - as I thnk I cut the peices to small to begin with there was not much shredding involved. I misread the ingredients and added 2T of chili powder...but it made no difference - this will be great as leftovers on nachos tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States