Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! I did use other reviewers' suggestions of using pork loin instead of tenderloin, adding chopped garlic, three chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and a can of green chiles. Perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Good Hearty Chili with a nice mexican flair. Wonderful taste, leaves you wanting more. Like others I added chili powder, chipotle peppers, garlic, taco seasoning, and cayenne pepper for an extra kick. I served it with green onions, sour cream, shredded cheese, and cilantro. This was wonderful. As a side I made the "Sweet Corn Cakes" recipe found on this website. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
A very solid chili for a group, won't offend anyone. Those who want it spicier can add their own Tobasco sauce. I added garlic and a can of chili peppers, served over rice with cheese, sour cream and cilantro. I like my chili a little wetter, so used 2 cups of broth but I did not add the liquid from the black beans. For variety, I think I would add garbanzo beans, corn and chopped tomatoes. I will be making a few meals for over 100 people soon ~ I think this will be one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was Awesome!! I used 2 can black beans and 1 can black beans and jalepeno. Then the salsa was chipolte habanero. It had a kick to it but with sour cream and cheese it was just perfect. I like my chili thicker so I just turned up the heat at the end and used a little cornstarch to thicken it up. My two boys ate it all up, I'm lucky I got a bowl. Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is why I love this website! This is a recipe I never would have made based on the ingredients, but I search for recipes that have high ratings and this one came up during a search, so I thought...I'll give it a try. Wow! We had this last night and it was wonderful. I browned the pork tenderloin first (covered it with flour, garlic powder, black pepper - then browned in butter) before adding it to the slow cooker. The only other change I made was to add a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Totally awesome and so simple. Served with rice, a dollop of sour cream, and Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site (also awesome). Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We LOVED this recipe. I added a can of diced green chilis, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. It was super easy to throw together before heading to the office and ready when we got home. I can see us using this recipe often now that it's getting chili... oops, CHILLY out. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We liked this. I followed this recipe exactly, except I swapped one can of beans for corn. The recipe didn't specify whether I should drain the beans, so I didn't. It turned out pretty good. There is a LOT of meat in this. If you want to cut costs, this can be a much less expensive recipe if you cut down a half pound of meat, and perhaps add a can of diced tomatoes. Also, others recommended using pork loin instead of tenderloin - at half the price, I might try that next time - I just wanted to stay true to the recipe this first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and i can say it was missing something i made it exactly to the recipe and im sorry but i thought it tasted like nursing home food with a slight kick i won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is the best chili I have tasted. I followed the directions exactly except I put in less chili powder to keep it more mild for the family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States