Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Served to the inlaws tonight for dinner and it was a hit! I followed others advice and added a can of green chilies, a minced garlic clove and frozen corn. Shredding the pork with two forks at the end definitely thickened it up. I also served it with the cilantro and lime rice topped it with a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I cut the tenderloin into cubes. I did drain the beans because I read it cuts down on the "gas factor". Next time I will but the meat into strips. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Even the kids ate it! I did not rinse the beans - I think the natural thickening agents from that liquid helped with consistency. The pork was wonderfully tender - as I thnk I cut the peices to small to begin with there was not much shredding involved. I misread the ingredients and added 2T of chili powder...but it made no difference - this will be great as leftovers on nachos tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
In our house when I try a new recipe they are either one timers or keepers. This one is definitely a keeper. My husband and I loved it. It didn't say whether to drain the black beans or not, so I didn't. It was just the right consistency. Not too spicy, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
An excellent change-up from regular ground beef chili. Easy to prepare and great tasting. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We had this tonight---Fabulous! Great fall/winter meal. I used black & red beans to mix it up, added the canned chili's & used pork tenderloin---I cooked the tenderloin whole in the crock all day then an hour before serving pulled it all apart, like pulled pork, it was awesome. This is a keeper and will become a regular. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was great! I used pork loin (because that is what I had). Used a lot more chicken broth than it called for (just didn't seem like enough). Lastly, we served it with sour cream and a little cheese. Would have been nice if I had tortilla chips too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It was soo yummy. My husband who doesn't like beans in his chili gobbled it up. I tool out i can of beans and replaced it with a can of corn near the end of cooking. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This recipe was easy to make and tasted great. I made only a few small changes-used two cans of black beans and one can of chili beans (although I think in retrospect it would have tasted just fine with black beans only) and then we added some sour cream and mild cheddar cheese to garnish and it tasted great! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good chili that was extremely easy to make. Followed directions to a "t". The only thing I would like more is for it to be a little thicker but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States