Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe was a hit!! I cooked this for a big crowd of people on a camping trip. There were people in all age groups and everyone loved it!! I made a few changes... I had to increase the recipe to serve 12 so keep that in mind. I used two cans of black beans and one of spicy chili beans. I also used a medium salsa for an extra kick. I also added a can of corn. I crushed up tortilla chips into the bottom of each bowl, put the chili on top of that, and then topped it with sour cream and shredded cheese. I am going to make this for our anual super bowl party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I wanted to put 5 stars but since I made some changes, thought I'd better not. I read the comments & changed the following: used pork loin, added 2 minced garlic cloves, 1 minced jalapeno, 2 chopped chipotles in adobe sauce, spoonful of peanut butter & eyeballed salsa. I omitted the chix broth b/c there was plenty of liquid + we like it thicker; after shredding pork, it was perfect texture. Topped with cheese & sour cream. It was easy, tasted fantastic & nearly the perfect heat as is (we like it hot!). Thanks to Aunt Jerre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great! I added a can of corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great recipe...I have never been able to make soups that taste great and this was a wonderful first. I added corn and used pork loin. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! I did use other reviewers' suggestions of using pork loin instead of tenderloin, adding chopped garlic, three chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and a can of green chiles. Perfect for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Good Hearty Chili with a nice mexican flair. Wonderful taste, leaves you wanting more. Like others I added chili powder, chipotle peppers, garlic, taco seasoning, and cayenne pepper for an extra kick. I served it with green onions, sour cream, shredded cheese, and cilantro. This was wonderful. As a side I made the "Sweet Corn Cakes" recipe found on this website. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
A very solid chili for a group, won't offend anyone. Those who want it spicier can add their own Tobasco sauce. I added garlic and a can of chili peppers, served over rice with cheese, sour cream and cilantro. I like my chili a little wetter, so used 2 cups of broth but I did not add the liquid from the black beans. For variety, I think I would add garbanzo beans, corn and chopped tomatoes. I will be making a few meals for over 100 people soon ~ I think this will be one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was Awesome!! I used 2 can black beans and 1 can black beans and jalepeno. Then the salsa was chipolte habanero. It had a kick to it but with sour cream and cheese it was just perfect. I like my chili thicker so I just turned up the heat at the end and used a little cornstarch to thicken it up. My two boys ate it all up, I'm lucky I got a bowl. Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is why I love this website! This is a recipe I never would have made based on the ingredients, but I search for recipes that have high ratings and this one came up during a search, so I thought...I'll give it a try. Wow! We had this last night and it was wonderful. I browned the pork tenderloin first (covered it with flour, garlic powder, black pepper - then browned in butter) before adding it to the slow cooker. The only other change I made was to add a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Totally awesome and so simple. Served with rice, a dollop of sour cream, and Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site (also awesome). Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States