Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is really good. Used 3lb pork loin. Seasoned some flour, dredged the meat and browned before added to the slow cooker. I also sauteed the onions. Used one green and one red pepper. Two cans of black bean, one can each of red kidney and cannelli beans. Used same amount of salsa and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. Put in one can of green chilies, and used suggested seasoning. The pork shredded beautifully. May add a bit more seasoning next time. So tasty and perfect for a chilly New York night. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was delicious. I used pork loin rather than tenderloin since that's what I had on hand. Great texture. I used a chicken bullion cube dissolved in 1/2 cup of water - I didn't add any extra salt and it was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good. I didn't have 3 cans of black beans, so I just used 2, and it turned out fine. I also used a pork tenderloin that was pre seasoned with onion and garlic. It had perhaps some other seasonings as well, but it worked perfectly. The salsa gave it a nice bite and the beans and pork made this a very filling dinner. I let it cook in the slow cooker probably about 8 1/2 hours, then broke up the pork with a fork. It was so tender and easy to break up, and it definitely does make it a thicker chili as opposed to a stew if you break up the pork chunks. Bf gave this his seal of approval. :o) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was amazing!! I did substitute a can of corn for one of the black beans because I love corn in my chili:) and had fresh cilantro, shredded cheese and sour cream for garnish. This was such a hit with my hubby he asked me to make it to take on his annual hunting trip! Very high praise for him:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was very good, but I did double the spices and added garlic, diced green chiles, a can of jalepinto beans, and a bottle of beer, which all helped the flavor even more. I also drained and rinsed the black beans before adding them to the slow cooker. I will definitely make again, I appreciated how simple it was to make and the colors of the black beans, white onion and red pepper made the presentation awesome as well.**update: made this again without the garlic and beer, used 2 cans of black beans, 1 can of jalepinto, and 1 can of S&W bean mix (can't remember if it was San Antonio or Sante Fe...). This was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was pretty good, but think I was hoping for more. As a chili, it was okay...but I started dipping tortilla chips as a dip and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I thought this was really good. I added a can of rotel tomatoes and some cayenne pepper. I couldn't decide if I should drain the beans or not and decided not to. Next time I will drain them. It was a little too watery. I used leftover pulled pork (used the kalua pig recipe for that) instead of pork tenderloin and am so happy to have a new way to use up my leftover pulled pork! Since my pork was already cooked, I only put this in the slow cooker for about 3 hours. I put it on high for a little while then turned it down to med-low. Garnished with sour cream, shredded cheese, and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this was very easy, and very good. my fiancee asked that i make it to keep on hand so he can take to lunch everyday! the only thing i would do is shredd up the pork instead of keeping it in cubes, so when i make it again, i will add an entire tenderloin, then remove it, shredd it, and the mix it back in. but this is a super yummy change to ordinary chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
We really liked this. At first, I was worried it wasn't going to taste good, b/c we've never made chili with anything but hamburger meat. But this was really good. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. I think the next time I will make some slight altercations that will make this a five star recipe. I will cut my pepper and onion into smaller pieces the next time (just a personal preference it doesn't alter the taste) I will also add salt and pepper. I thought it was a little flat without it. I think adding a jalapeño would also be a nice touch. This was easy to do and fairly economical. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing Valley Girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States