Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is the first chili recipe (other than my own) that I have made twice.. Great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have to give this one 5 stars even though I have never cooked it for the 10 hours. I always have pork loin or chops left over from dinner. I cut up my leftovers and add everything else and let simmer for 45 minutes or so. Makes for a super quick dinner and kids and husband really like it! I also add the peanut butter as suggested by another reviewer. Great recipe, I've made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Outstanding! I used approximately 2lb of pork loin and added about 2/3 of a bottle of Guinness beer. I had my husband roast the red pepper and 3 ears of corn on the grill. I also added about 5 cloves of roasted garlic. For the black beans, I used 2 cans of Bush's Black Bean Fiesta and 1 can of regular black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I liked this quite a bit. The pork was wonderfully tender after being in the slow cooker for so long. However, both my husband and I felt that it was missing something, though we're not sure what (maybe a can of diced or stewed tomatoes..). I would make again though, because it was very easy to make and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Really good and really easy. The pork shredded so easily after cooking all day in the slow cooker. The flavors were terrific. Great fall day chili. Served with mexican cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
All THREE of my children (ages 5,3,1) ate it! That's definitely five stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used the recipe as inspiration for the ingredients I had on hand and it is super tasty. (My changes - generous amounts of mexican seasoning blend, and chili powder. A whooole lotta garlic, big fat cloves sliced up. Pinto beans with jalapenos. Fire roasted tomatoes with adobo seasoning. Chopped fresh pasilla pepper as well as the red pepper. Fresh chopped serrano peppers.) Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
wow, awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This came out better then I thought it would. I made a few substitutions. I used 1.5 lbs of pork shoulder cubed up, green pepper instead of red, substituted a bottle of beer for the chicken broth, and added a can of chopped chili peppers. I also drained the beans as I don't think bean juice adds to any recipe. My local grocery store sells a really delicious chipotle salsa that I used. About halfway through the cooking I was worried the pork wouldn't be tender enough, but when I went to shred it a few hours later it just fell apart. Added a few dashes of hot sauce at the end for heat. This is going into the winter soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely loved it! So simple but the flavors are fabulous! I too doubled the spices and the chicken broth and it was the perfect amount of liquid. My husband went back for 2nds, which he never does except for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States