Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This came out better then I thought it would. I made a few substitutions. I used 1.5 lbs of pork shoulder cubed up, green pepper instead of red, substituted a bottle of beer for the chicken broth, and added a can of chopped chili peppers. I also drained the beans as I don't think bean juice adds to any recipe. My local grocery store sells a really delicious chipotle salsa that I used. About halfway through the cooking I was worried the pork wouldn't be tender enough, but when I went to shred it a few hours later it just fell apart. Added a few dashes of hot sauce at the end for heat. This is going into the winter soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely loved it! So simple but the flavors are fabulous! I too doubled the spices and the chicken broth and it was the perfect amount of liquid. My husband went back for 2nds, which he never does except for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
my wife loves it and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something. Like diced or crushed tomatoes, or something like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious! I follwed the recipe exactly, using a 1.7lb pork tenderloin and slow cooking for 9 hours. I loved the southwest flavors and the pork was so tender, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious, was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe! I did not use salsa or chicken broth. Instead, I used a whole bottle of beer, a 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes, and a small can of green chilies. Next time I will buy a bigger can or two cans of chilies and cut back to 2 cans of beans. I like meat/bean ratio to be in favor of the meat! I also used a pork loin that was frozen and it worked great. I did remove the pork first and scraped the fat off before shredding. I also plan on using the leftovers as a burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This here recipe deserved to win! It's filin', hearty and tasty to boot! I recommend it heartily! Dont forget hem taters on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fabulous! I cooked it on the stove sauteing the onion and chunked tenderloin. When the onion became translucent the other ingredients were added after draining two cans of the black beans. After bringing to a boil, the chili simmered between 60 and 90 minutes before the tenderloin was removed and shredded. The tenderloin then was placed back in the pot with two cans of Rtoel tomatoes with green chilis. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this wanting to not have it too dry, so I used an entire can of chicken broth, and added a bottle of dark beer and the water from the beans. I also added a small can of chopped chilis and omitted the red bell pepper. The end result was a bit more like soup than chili, so I made rice and layered the chili on top of the rice in the bowl. I then added the garnishments (shredded sharp chedder cheese, advocado, cilantro and sour cream) and OMG, how delicious! The tenderloin 2" thick slices didn't really break up while cooking but I broke most of them myself in the pot into big chunks, and the meat easily broke up further in the bowls. I WILL make this again omitting only the chicken broth, which I assume will make it thicker and I will try it over chips, as I had originally intended to tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States