Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
wow, awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This came out better then I thought it would. I made a few substitutions. I used 1.5 lbs of pork shoulder cubed up, green pepper instead of red, substituted a bottle of beer for the chicken broth, and added a can of chopped chili peppers. I also drained the beans as I don't think bean juice adds to any recipe. My local grocery store sells a really delicious chipotle salsa that I used. About halfway through the cooking I was worried the pork wouldn't be tender enough, but when I went to shred it a few hours later it just fell apart. Added a few dashes of hot sauce at the end for heat. This is going into the winter soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely loved it! So simple but the flavors are fabulous! I too doubled the spices and the chicken broth and it was the perfect amount of liquid. My husband went back for 2nds, which he never does except for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
my wife loves it and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something. Like diced or crushed tomatoes, or something like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Delicious! I follwed the recipe exactly, using a 1.7lb pork tenderloin and slow cooking for 9 hours. I loved the southwest flavors and the pork was so tender, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious, was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe! I did not use salsa or chicken broth. Instead, I used a whole bottle of beer, a 28oz can of fire roasted tomatoes, and a small can of green chilies. Next time I will buy a bigger can or two cans of chilies and cut back to 2 cans of beans. I like meat/bean ratio to be in favor of the meat! I also used a pork loin that was frozen and it worked great. I did remove the pork first and scraped the fat off before shredding. I also plan on using the leftovers as a burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This here recipe deserved to win! It's filin', hearty and tasty to boot! I recommend it heartily! Dont forget hem taters on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fabulous! I cooked it on the stove sauteing the onion and chunked tenderloin. When the onion became translucent the other ingredients were added after draining two cans of the black beans. After bringing to a boil, the chili simmered between 60 and 90 minutes before the tenderloin was removed and shredded. The tenderloin then was placed back in the pot with two cans of Rtoel tomatoes with green chilis. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States