Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Fabulous! Don't change a thing! Delicious with tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Yum made this for the first time and so easy and yummy. I shared the recipes with a few friends and now it will be a family favourite and thats saying alot for a picky family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My whole family loved this. We used a pork loin roast like mara840 suggested it was approx. 2 1/4 which probably gave a better meat to bean ratio. I cut it in half so it would cook faster and trimmed off the layer of fat on top. At the end I just shredded the meat with a fork. I took the lid off at the end like others suggested, but I don't think that was necessary. I added 2 cloves chopped garlic and a green pepper and extra onion and a can of green chilies because I had it on hand and it's healthy. I chopped the veggies pretty small too. I served it over brown rice which was pretty good and also fried up some polenta which I had on had. Polenta wasn't good on its own, but fabulous when topped with this chili. My boys even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I thought this was good, but not really fantastic. I cook for a family with 3 kids. I would have given this 3 stars, but the some what picky 4 y/o said this was the most wonderful thing he ever had in his mouth! I changed a few things. Added frozen corn (kids like corn), used a crock pot after browning meat/onions, inreased the chili/cumin. In the last 30 minutes of cooking, I threw in cilantro and the juice of one lime. Poured it into a casserole, topped it with cheddar cheese, baked until cheese melted. I will make this for the family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
turned out excellent. the chili is really tasty and an easy meal to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent! Perfectly spiced. Varied the beans with 1 can black, 1 can white, and 1 can pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I really hate being the poor reviewer here, but.... Neither my hubby or I liked this - AT ALL. For my DH, this was too beany (but he isn't a fan of beans anyways). Oddly, I thought the same thing (on the contrary, I LOVE beans). The ratio of beans / pork was terribly off. This was nothing more than black bean soup with a bit of pork. I even "doctored" this up a bit by adding a bottle of Corona lite and a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies as ValleyGirl mentioned she sometimes does. I used premium salsa too. I just don't know what all the rave reviews are about (?). Even with fresh cilantro garnish, this was quite mediocre. I must say, for ease of preparation and cost of ingredients, this is deserving of 5 stars, but tastewise, I can't give more than 3 (and really shouldn't...). I enjoyed the southwest salad (Dole blend) and black bean & salsa bread (purchased from my grocer's bakery) MUCH more than the main course and would have been VERY hungry without both. Sorry ValleyGirl. I'm not sure how your Aunt won first place with this recipe, but I'm happy for her nonetheless. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I am rating this recipe on the changes I made to the origional recipe, but without the changes, the chili would be awesome too! I can't tolerate black beans, so added what I had(1 can great northern, 1 can red kidney and 1 can chili beans, all drained and rinsed). Sliced thin a pork loin, trimmed of fat and added a can of diced green chilies instead of green pepper, which I don't like. After it cooked for about 4 hours, I added 1/2 cup dark beer. Cooked a total of 8 hours on low, then shredded the pork strips(they were very tender and it was easy to do). The flavor was outstanding. I think next time I will try it with a can of fire roasted tomatoes. This recipe will be wonderful with multiple changes and additions and will be in my Favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
made this tonight for dinner. delicious, pork very tender. cooked on high for 4 hours on slow cooker. made cornbread croutons to garnish. (used Jiffy mix and made cornbread, then cut into crouton size bites, stole this idea from Panera Bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
5 stars! Delicious chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States