Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at making jerky, and wow, this was great! Might have a bit more kick than my dd will like so next time I'll leave red chili flakes off half the batch. Also, you can easily double the beef and not adjust the amount of marinade. I had waaaaaaay too much when I doubled everything. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I've been doing Jerky for 20 years. I've tried hundreds of recipies. This is the bomb. ***USE ABOUT 1/2 THE LIQUID SMOKE*** I've given away about 3 lbs. to friends. Now they are asking when I'll doing more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I got a food dehydrator for Christmas last year and haven't done much with it. The other day, we decided to try to make beef jerky and found this recipe. I don't think I need to look anywhere else - this recipe is great! Tastes like "professional" jerky you might buy at the store or smokehouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo Gadgetron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was a great recipe. Definitely a keeper! I made it exactly as stated, next time I'll probably cut back on the liquid smoke, I think it might have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
this is fantastic!! I was surprised at the reviewer who didn't think it smelled good while dehydrating because my entire family kept begging to know when it would be done! The seasoning on this is just right - no to sweet, not to spicy - the perfect combination of both for a jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My entire family loves this beef jerky marinade! It smells awful when you are cooking the marinade, but it sure is worth it when it's time to eat it. It always amazes me how quickly the jerky disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I totally agree with Cat. I followed this recipe as is & it came out great. I tried three others on this site for a comparison & this is the best. I found at my grocery they slice beef for braising & it is perfect for this recipe, if you can find it, try it. Spearing the meat with a toothpick & hanging it from the top rack is a perfect way to dry the meat, just make sure you place some tinfoil on the bottom rack to catch the liquid. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Followed this recipe to a 'T,' which I believe is necessary to rate it properly. Absolutely perfect 'as is,' no changes to the ingredients. Just a suggestion for prep -- there's no need to marinate in two steps, just combine everything in one glass bowl (plastic absorbs smell) or Ziploc bag overnight. If you don't have a dehydrator, you can use skewers and hang them from one end in the oven at 150F for 4-5 hours. I also boil the leftover marinade for at least 10 min to rid of bacteria or until desired consistency and use it for BBQ sauce on beef, chicken or pork. Why waste it? Everyone loves this jerky, so it's the only one I make. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is the first jerky recipe I tried with my new dehydrator, and it was amazing! Love the little bit of sweet, balanced with the little bit of heat. And the marinade was so great, I think I'll try this with some other meats to BBQ. Thank you for the great recipe! I'll be making this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Turned out wonderful. I marinated it all overnight... Didn't have a dehydrator so I did it on a sheet pan with a cooling rack above it for ventilation at 150deg for 2 hours and 200deg for another hour to hour and a half. It was wonderful. I also didn't use liquid smoke. It is so tender. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States