Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ksmith1
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I have to tell you BEST VENISON JERKY EVER!!! But I want to share my tweeks. For starters I used one whole back strap. But also Instead of pinaple juice I used coca cola I doubled the batch because I had 2 1/2 pounds of venison. I also used a whole tbs of fresh course ground pepper and instead of red pepper flakes I used a better hot pepper blend mine was homemade but anything hot with flavor! Soaked for 48 hrs. Smoked on a charcoal smoker with cherry wood. I also used vernors in the water bowl. Like I said best jerky I've ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the best jerky that i have ever made or purchased anywhere! Very flavorful with just a small bite of heat at the end. I make a large batch every couple months and it never seems to last around the house for more than a couple days. My extended family and co-workers are always bugging me to make more. Definitely give it a try. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Perfect recipe! A lot of ingredients but well worth it! One tip that I do, put everything in a 1 gallon zip lock bag with all the air pushed out to marinade. Every few hours I mix the bag without ever opening it. This way produces a more even flavoring and is much less messy! When I am done, I take the meat out and throw away the messy bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe. This was our first time making beef jerky and it came out delicious! The only thing we didn't add was the red pepper flakes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yummy! So good! We did it with round steak. Will try it with all sorts of different cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic jerky recipe. I did add a few more ingredients to spice it up a bit after the first batch turned out a little too mild for my taste. First off, I added red pepper flakes to the spice rub as well as to the marinade. I also let the marinade simmer for a couple minutes just to give the peppers a chance to steep. I also added about a tablespoon of Thai chili garlic paste. And just for good measure I tossed in a few dashes of Tabasco. The result was a more flavorful, spicier jerky. Not flaming hot, but a little more bite than the original. This recipe is a FANTASTIC sweet and tangy base for jerky. I would also recommend beginning your drying process in the oven at around 300 degrees until the steam evaporates, then transfer to the drying racks. Getting the meat up to 160 degrees or so kills bacteria and speeds the drying. Then you move it to your dehydrator for another 3-4 hours (depending on how thick your slices are). I highly recommend this recipe. Nice work DIXYCHIK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! My family LOVED this recipe. I made it for the annual guy's deer hunting trip. It was all gone before they got to the camp site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I've made this a few times, both with beef and with venison, Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Made as directed. It's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Loved this recipe! Followed recipe exactly. Love the taste and the texture of the meat. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States