Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The Good,the bad n`the jerky ... dust ball Rolling by ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowCrab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Well, for 1 lb of sliced meat...the liquid (2 cups) is a bit much. I looked at the ingredients and did my own thing. Like, I didn't use garlic/onion powders (used minced grn onion and pasted roasted garlic). Went lower with brown sugar and used a red wine vinegar. I also have dried Habanero and Jalapeno powders I incorporated so I backed off the black & red pepper. And because I like it, I added grated peel from 1 tangerine and it's juice. Anyway...after trimming a 1.9 lb Angus bottom round roast (found it on sale) I ended up with 1.3 lb of sliced meat. Once it dried (I have a dehydrator) then it turned into 9 oz of finished product (about 4 hours dehydration). I don't believe you need to have the meat 'swimming' in marinade for good results. I had enough marinade to thoroughly coat meat slices in a large zip bag and massaged it every few hours before it sat overnight in the fridge. Good jerky marinade recipe you can fool around with easily. I also do a cross cut on the meat (I have a small electric slicer). This seems to produce the best chew for jerky. Thanks for the post DIXYCHICK. For 5 bucks I got a decent batch you would pay 3 x's as much from a vendor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipie was AWESOME!!!! I also added 4 TBS of Jalapeno puree and 3 TBS of Sriracha sauce. And I replaced the black pepper with 1 tsp of red pepper. This really added flavor and little heat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I had to create an account because I had to give credit for this recipe. It's perfect. If you want it hotter just add some more Tabasco. Everybody I shared it with loved it also. Especially my wife. She ate about two bags to herself. Thank you very much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I added more red pepper flakes to make spicier. It was absolutely delectable. I also made some without the red pepper flakes for my husband because he doesn't like spicy. It's the best jerky that we have tried I highly recommend it. Oh I also added an extra half cup of pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe twice without changing anything except trying several different cuts of meat. My husband wanted beef jerky so I put the first batch in and showed him how to do it. Over the next couple of days he had made several batches to take on a trip out of town. Yeah, now he can make it whenever he wants to. I don't eat jerly, but my husband said this is a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have made jerky for 20 years. This recipe is pretty good. After reading the comments; I decided to make some minor tweaks. First; I doubled the pineapple juice and simmered it to concentrate the sweetness. Then, I added a ¼ cup of orange juice along with the other ingredients ( I use a smoker so, I omitted the liquid smoke). I doubled the dry ingredients / coated the meat and let it marinade for 4 hours. Then I added the liquid marinade and let it set over night. I don’t pound the meat before smoking; I like the big chew. “This step is essential” before smoking / dehydrating; take meat and out of the marinade and place it on a towel. Place another towel on top to absorb the moisture. Then, put the meat on a rack (uncovered) for an hour or until the color turns grey. This helps the curing process and stops the marinade / seasoning from exiting the meat when smoking dehydrating. I hope you find this hint helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was my first time making jerky. I do not have a dehydrator so I followed advice of another reviewer and it worked perfectly. I used a foil lined bakers sheet and put the jerky on a cross-wire cooling rack. Baked at 150 for about 5 hours, opening the door to let out steam every now and then. Followed recipe exactly (did marinate overnight and doubled the meat but not the marinade) and would not change a thing, nor leave anything out. This was excellent and easy! This jerky is the PERFECT road trip snack! I definitely recommend doubling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. After marinating for 4 hours I took out 1/2 the meat to dehydrate. Once that batch was done drying I made the rest and had people taste test them to see if marinating them longer (18h) made a difference. It did not. It was all fantastic! Thanks for sharing! I have my next batch in the fridge marinating now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Excellent! First let me say great job and thank you. Taking the time to record and post proper potions made my part a piece of cake. Now, if I like I can tweak it. The only thing I did different was to add my own dried ground Sarrano peppers in the amount you recommended, great kick. I remember growing up and when my Mom and Dad would get back from elk or deer hunting we would string row after row of jerky across the garage and back yard. My Mom would salt and pepper it and that was all. Hay it was great but it was the same every time. Carne seca. I love that this is sweet and spicy. I knew after reading it that it would be caramely sweet because of the ingredients. No surprise there. Again, thanks for the recipe. Brad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States