Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I put a little cayenne pepper, and a big scoop of chili garlic sauce which made it spicy and real juicy!! it is smoky but if you store in a big bag for a day or two the flavor will just amaze you :) I put in the oven on 170 degrees and used tooth picks to hold up the meat on the rack for 4-5 hours and was very juicy. I also used London Broil and had Ralphs my grocery store slice up the meet real thin and I got about 3Ibs. I noticed when I changed the servings it was way to much and could of made another 5-6Ibs more if I wanted with what I had. word of advice, stay with the recommended amount with 4 servings if you are going to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
We use this recipe for EVERY backpacking trip. Love the sweetness added by the pineapple juice. Other than adding a little extra red pepper flakes to the mix, we follow the recipe exactly. It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This jerky is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Yum! this was very good, just the right level of sweet. i did omit the hotter spices because i don't always do well with smoldering food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I have been making this all day! My daughter loves it..I used elk and apple juice instead of the pineapple juicel like another reviewer and this is great! I had just bought a counter top convection, toaster, and rotisserie oven and wanted to use it..It was perfect. The oven set on convection bake at 150 deg. and about 3 1/2 hours later it was done. Next time I think I will add ALL the spice to the marinade and more pepper flakes. But this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
most excellent! This was great and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We raise beef cattle so I'm always looking for the "better" jerky recipe. Have tried many and this is probably the best. Marinated short cut rump and london broil steaks (about 5 lbs. total) in a double batch of the exact recipe and had enough left over for another 5 pounds of meat. Think I'm done looking for jerky recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
So easy to make and great flavor. I had to throw some in the freezer just so it wasn't all consumed in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Good flavor, not too spicy or too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Pretty good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Conklin Hoog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States