Jerky Lover's Jerky - Sweet, Hot and Spicy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
YUM!! The recipe title says it all. It had all those flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We used this recipe to make deer jerky. We actually ground the meat and then added the marinade. This was a lot of marinade and we used it for about 3 1/2 pounds of ground meat. We let it marinate for about 4 hours and then used a jerky gun and a dehydrator. It has a wonderful flavor and we will definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Awesome! If it was up to my family and friends I could make a batch every day, it disappears so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYPITTSBURGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I didn't have pineapple juice, so I added 1/3rd cup molasses instead. Also added some extra pepper flakes for a little more heat. 1 lb of meat took 4 hrs. in the dehydrator at 155°f. Came out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
i omitted the liquid smoke,doubled the ground pepper and instead of the pineapple juice,i went with half apple juice and half honey.I smoked for 20 minutes with applewood chips and then put in the oven.it was the best jerky i have ever had.just incredible.I want to take the 5 tbsp of liquid smoke and use 5 tbsp of some other liquid that would compliment this recipe.Im a chef so i love to figure this stuff out.I will think of something.i was thinking of using a nice ice wine,something not too sweet.or maybe just 1/2 spicy bbq sauce and half water(2.5 tbsp of each)i think that would work great!i just made ot again,this time with the original recipe,it is better when you smoke the meat,but the taste was not all that different,stil.......SHAZAM!!!!awesome stuff.i bought a 18 pound roast and have made about 4-5 pounds of jerky.should last a while(doubt it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
SO GOOD,I USED BUFFALO,YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The best jerky....I smoked it for three hours and then let it dry out for 1 more in my smoker without smoke. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
So good!! everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! It has a wonderful sweet flavor, but does not have an odd after taste that teriyaki jerky often does. I kicked up the red pepper flakes the second time around as I like alittle more heat. This recipe works well with both venison and beef. Marinating longer is better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGSKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
WOW!!!!! My husband is a first time hunter...got a moose and brought home a couple hunderd pounds of it! This is incredible! First time I have ever made jerky or done anything with "wild" game! I have to make it every other day because it doesn't make it to any of the three F's ~ fridge, freezer or friends! I didn't have pineapple juice or the teriyaki (sp?). So went without! Delicious! Used the marinade twice ~ there was enough and didn't want to throw out! First batch was with round the second top sirloin...both great. Sirloin a better choice! Incredible and my fam loves it with some cayanne in marinade and sprinkled on lightly before oven! 100 stars if I could give it! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States