Jerk Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was delicious! I miixed it with 1/4 cup lime juice & tossed some leftover london broil that had already been cooked. I also left out the cayanne so the kids would eat it. The kids...that's actually the only reason I didn't give 5 stars. They thought it was ok, but didn't love it like I did. Has to be a crowd pleaser to get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good jerk seasoning! I mixed 2 TB of it w/ 1/4 c. white vinegar, 2 TB EVOO, and 2 TB Soy Sauce, and marinated a couple chicken breasts in it. Ran out of gas on the grill (eek!), so I did the chicken in the skillet and they came out fabulous; smelled outstanding, tasted great, a tiny bit too spicy for my pre-schooler, but otherwise, an awesome dry jerk seasoning that can be adjusted to one's taste, and made into a paste/marinade/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Tastes great on steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I swapped dried minced onion for fresh minced onion, rubbed it on some porkchops, poured some pineapple juice over them and let them marinate for about 2 hours- BEST PORK CHOPS EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I have never scene or used a Jerk seasoning with salt in it! a little to mild for my jerk dishes. a good starter idea. not up to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I have to admit that I don't usually like spicy food, so I've never eaten anything with jerk seasoning on it. Having said that, other than eliminating the cayenne pepper, I followed the recipe and LOVED it! I always prefer to make my own seasoning mixes rather than buy commercial ones that have a lot of nasty unnecessary ingredients in them. Thank you Celia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good flavor! I added 1.5 teaspoons of this to a can of black beans, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I sent this as a gift so I tasted it but not on meat. It was spicy! This looked and smelled great Im sure it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Slathered this on a baked chicken recipe and it was absolutely awesome. With that said, I made two huge changes: onion powder instead of minced because it would be uncovered in an oven at 450 and 500 degrees for a combined hour and I was afraid of burning, and parsley for thyme because I had no thyme but really wanted to make this. I discovered while researching subsitutions thyme is one of the hallmarks of jerk blends so don't make that change if you want it authentic, but for us it worked really well. As others have mentioned not the most spicy interpretation, but I liked how the allspice and cinnamon flavors were more prominent instead of just, HOT. Will use again: thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
So good! Try this: Thaw one bag of frozen shrimp, then saute them in a little bit of oil and a generous sprinkling of this seasoning. Mix 3 cups shredded cabbage with 3Tblsps mayo, and the juice and zest of one lime. Throw in some onion or cilantro if you like it and let sit while cooking shrimp. Serve in warmed corn tortillas for the best shrimp tacos you ever tasted!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States