Jeri's Spicy Buffalo Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great recipe. I followed it exactly as written, though I would normally have expected some spices in the flour. Didn't miss it in the final product. I used parchment paper on the pan to prevent sticking and make cleanup easier. I also cut up some chicken tenderloins (too small, unfortunately) for some boneless wings. If you're going to do that, either use the tenderloin intact or at most halved. I'll be making this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Gruner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Best wings! Spiced the wings overnight, turning them occasionally, and when ready to cook blotted them dry before rolling in flour. Knock off the flour and when browning them there was enough flour to make a nice casing. I put them in a foil-lined pan and let them sit, uncovered, until baking time. Next time I will crinkle up foil to put them on to prevent sticking. Letting them cool didn't hurt at all. They stayed crisp and the full baking time was perfect. I think the vinegar with the salts was a great idea and the garlic, butter and Franks Hot Original sauce was perfect. I have four hidden to eat later;-) /served with ranch dressing and celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Enjoyed this....very flavorful and very mild, but I didn't use the crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Just made this exactly as written. These are the BEST I've ever had - restaurant or homemade. I used Louisiana Gem Habanero Pepper Sauce for the hot pepper sauce and Trader Joe's organic unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar. I also bought a fresh brand new can of Crisco shortening. Make sure you have the large bowls, baking sheet (I used a jelly roll pan), skillet, paper towel-lined platter, and serving dish out and ready because things happen fast towards the end. I had them marinate in the fridge overnight. I have two more pounds of wings in my Costco bag of frozen wings and I will make another batch using this same recipe. Perfect amount of heat and so delicious! Didn't feel the heat on my lips until I was done ;-) Thanks Jeri!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
this is a very good recipe....adjust your own heat lvl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Harry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
because of Lucky's review and it being close to super bowl sunday. I was looking for a good wing recipe (Very tired of the restaurant wings) these had the most wonderful flavor!! I baked them as directed the only change I made was to brush some of them with Sweet baby Ray's kickin bourbon wing sauce and glaze. which was pretty darned good. but if I hadn't used this marinade on them first, it would have been pretty darned blawzay! I will use this from now on. Best tasting wing I have had in YEARS, even hubby loved them. Thank you so much for this GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great stuff! Get kinda tired of people posting their, "I cut this or I added that" comments. Rate the recipe as is or don't do it all. Nice job, Jeri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fabulous! Hubby said these are the best wings I've ever made! Making these again for Super Bowl and many more times. Thank you Jeri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I absolutley love this recipe. It is so simple. I made some for when I was visiting my family and they gobbled it down before I even had a chance, thats how good the wings are. I normally use chicken breast and make cubes because I hate my lips being on fire. With the 2lbs of chicken I do double the recipe except for the butter and I never use just one clove of garlic maybe 3 or 4 cloves depending on the size of the clove and how much I am making. This is by far one of the easiest and tastiest recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Fabulous! I can't keep enough of them on the table... it's like a pack of hungry animals pouncing. That apple cider vinegar marinade is kick-. I use half the recommended butter and just a few more ounces of hot sauce, seems to work great. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nightvision12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States