Jen's Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
There's something about adding the corn and the tomatoes to the bbq sauce in these nachos that made them taste sooooo good! You just have to try it to love it. It's similar to regular nachos but even better. I made a couple of substitutions-I used regular tortilla chips instead of the nacho-flavor listed, and I substituted Johnsonville's Italian ground sausage for the ground beef. I liked the substitutions and think I'll try using leftover cooked shredded chicken next time-yum, a barbecue chicken nacho dish. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It was very wet and not really the "nacho flavor" I was expecting. Couldn't even get my 17 year old to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These are awesome! I made them in the slow cooker and served chips on the side for a party and called them cowboy nachos. Everyone loved them. They are quite sweet from the BBQ sauce. My husband isn't a fan of BBQ sauce, so if you don't like BBQ sauce, its not for you. But, kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
MY HUSBAND QUIT EATING IT SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The kids LOVED it! I used lean beef so didn't have to drain it. Used taco seasoning from another recipe, just cut up the tomatoes instead of canned, added some onions, and used only a tablespoon of BBQ sauce, but still delicious. Poured the mixture over the chips and then sprinkled cheese on top and baked until cheese melted. Any chips good with this, used plain corn chips and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Wow, I can't believe these got 5 stars from the family! They are really good. I added about 1 tablespoon of taco seasoning to the browned meat with a couple tablespoons of water and simmered less than 5 mins. I think I only used about half a bottle of bbq sauce. We will be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Way better than I was expecting...hubby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Guess I have to rate this 5 stars since my family ate every bite before I got one!!! I did make some minor adjustments. Used 1/2 ground beef, 1/2 ground sausage. Added 1 teaspoon of taco seasoning mix and did not mix my cheddar cheese into the meat to melt. I only used a handful of corn (kids not fond of) and used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned cause that is what I had on hand. I put my chips in a 350 for 5-7 minutes to heat "before" placing meat mixture on them. Will definitely make again so I get to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I just made these for dinner and I loved them!! I topped them with cheese and baked them...so good and different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Awesome! Completely differnet than ordinary nachos. I used ground turkey since I dont eat red meat and it was the best nachos I have ever ate! Referred the recipe to my mom. Thanks Brittany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States