Jen's Hearty Three Meat Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is my favorite chili recipe. Everyone loves it... We like it thicker so I add more tomato paste and beans! I also dont use the white sugar, and instead use a diet sugar subsitute! It is good as it is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I didn't have quite enough chili powder but I did have a can of Chipotle peppers which I chopped up and threw in there. I think the smoky taste really went well with the cinnamon and I will make it exactly the same again. Oh, and I also cooked it in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I liked the three meats but it was way to sweet. It might have been the beer I used since i used a lighter one, but next time i think i will omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I tried this with turkey sausage b/c my kids don't eat pork. I also cooked it in the crock pot. It wasn't bad but the cinnamon was OVERWHELMING, although it kind of showed up at the beginning of the bite & then receded into the background. My wife liked it, but I was experimenting with chili that weekend & once she tried the other, she didn't want this one anymore. Personally, as I don't really care for cinnamon, I'm unlikely to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was fantastic! I used hot italian sausage and cubed london broil with no ground beef. I added a chipotle pepper and much less chili powder. I also chopped a green bell pepper. Served with cornbread, sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Four stars for a good starting point. Used ground pork instead of Italian Sausage due to allergies from fennel/anise seeds. Omitted the sugar and added some balsamic vinegar for acidity. It was good, however i did miss the green chilies that I normally put in chili. I also missed the garlic, so I added a few tbsp of minced garlic plus garlic powder. The cinnamon was a surprising addition that we all liked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a bit different from my typical Chili. We liked the different meats. Everyone enjoyed it. Cooked as listed. Maybe a pinch more chili powder and green peppers next time. Served the second night over a baked potato. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The most unique and delicious chili recipe I have ever had. Really don't understand the review with a 1 star seems unfair, this is not hot. The ingredients are perfect together! Great recipe! Try it you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I personally liked this recipe. It was very good, different from others but that after all is why I selected it. But, my husband did not care for it at all. I was shocked, he loves spicy but said this was just too hot. I could only give it three stars for our difference of oppinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was an unbelievable chili. I had never actually attempted chili before but this one was rather easy. I had to vary the recipe a small bit because I had not cinnamon...I used nutmeg instead. Also I had to leave out the sausage because the store I stopped at was out, so it was a two meat chili. But it turned out really good and everyone loved it. I can't wait to try it again to see what it tastes like with the sausage in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjduncan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States