Jen's Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My kids (9 and 6) usually don't like stew like dishes but they did eat some of this. I had more than 3 cups of butternut squash, so I added water that was flavored with tomato paste. I used ground chicken, which I browned with onion and garlic. I used a homemade taco seasoning that I got from allrecipes, and that allows me to control the level of heat and spice I put in. I keep it very mild for the kids. My husband and I then added a few dashes of hot sauce to our plates. I served it with crusty Whole Wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good, my picky eater (age 7) ate the whole thing without complaining. I followed the recipe but I did add more water (maybe a Cup),some onion powder and 2 garlic cloves. After the beef was ready, I placed everything in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours, because I wasn't going to have time to make the soup later. Turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I love mushrooms, but don't think they work here. Otherwise loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very good quick soup- the taco seasoning gives more flavor considering the short cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddog690

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The recipe was good, but next time I will chop up an onion and some garlic to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this and it was GREAT. I did add more water. My kids even had seconds and they normally dont eat veggies (what kids really do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was really quite tasty. The store did not have savoy cabbage, so I had to use bok choy. I also did not put the full amount of carrots in. I did have to increase the water as my veggies started to stick to the bottom of the pot. I also did not have flavored salt or garlic salt, but adding pepper at the end was fine. It is very hearty. My favorite part was the squash and while I did not measure it, I used a whole buttercup squash, so I'm sure there was more than 3 c. Definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This soup was so good that my kids asked for seconds and possibly thirds of it. The only thing I used different was ground turkey rather than ground beef. My family thought it was great and they asked that I make it again, I also made if for church potluck and came home with an empty pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Loved this "stew". Didn't have cabbage so I used frozen peas. Made the ground beef like I do tacos (by mixing the taco seasoning with water), which added 1/4th cup to the water. House smelled wonderful for the hour it "stewed". Loved loved loved it! Next time I will add more squash. It was my favorite ingredient. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsjennib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I also used 3/4 cup of water. Also used Baby Bella mushrooms. Even my friend who despises vegetables loved it. Delicious and fulling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States