Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I love this salsa! I have made this 4 times already. I took it to a work potluck this week and got many requests for the recipe. As others mentioned, it can be get a little watery. After I seed the tomatoes and chop them in my food processor, I let them sit in a strainer while I do the rest of the work. This helps make it less watery. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Whoa Nelly! As a person who is used to spicy and always orders the hottest number of spice a restaurant offers - I nearly burnt my mouth off with this stuff! I only added one jalapeno pepper (with seeds) so I didn't think it would be that hot. I don't think this recipe needs the extra hot sauce! I also agree with some of the other reviews that it was salty and had too much cilantro. I love cilantro but it made the salsa really green so it was a bit overpowering. I don't think it needs any salt or garlic powder especially if you are using chips with salt already on them. I will give it 3 stars because I was able to tone down the heat with more tomato and lime juice and was good because it was fresh. But I will have to change up the recipe if I was to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This is one of the best salsa recipes I've tried. If you follow the recipe as is it's spicy. If you use one jalapeno and one Tbsp. hot sauce it's medium. If you omit the jalapeno and hot sauce it's mild. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is fabulous salsa. I like a medium consistency salsa so I pureed half the veggies and diced the other half so I had some chunks still in it. The half of the tomatoes I diced I also drained so it wouldn't be too runny. Next time I will use a serrano or habanero pepper because even with 3 jalapenos it wasn't spicy enough for my tastes. This salsa was still fabulous, even though next time I would only salt and pepper to taste as I found what the recipe called for might be a little on the heavy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe is amazing. Some advice: If you have the time, pulse the tomatoes and chop other ingredients by hand. Also, let the tomatoes sit in fridge for an hour before adding other ingredients and then drain the water off of the top (they're tomatoes...they will get watery), then add remaining ingredients. If your concerned about heat (the hotter the better for me), add jalapenos and hot sauce until desired spiciness. I love this recipe as is. Thanks J-Shep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did like this recipe but I made some changes. I don't like the skin on the tomatoes so I blanched them to remove the skin. I used 2 very large tomatoes & 1/2 red onion, 1 Tbsp of lime juice, 2 cloves of garlic & 1 tsp of cumin. We also heated ours after blending it on the stove to bring some more flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I give this a 5 stars rating. It is exceptionally delicious. I did use chopped garlic instead of powder. The salsa was very juicy, which could have been corrected by draining the tomatoes for a bit. I personally enjoyed it the way it was. My batch made 3 cups. What is great about this is that there are only 210 calories for the entire 3 cups. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This should be called Jen's Fresh HOT and Spicy Salsa. My Husband loved it, but we both love HOT Spicy Salsa. I do agree with a few of the other reviews, I would drain the tomatoes before mixing in the other ingredients. I also used a couple of garlic cloves (chopped) instead of powder. Lots of flavor - excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This is pretty tastey! I used the recipe as a basic guideline, using probably about 10 or so smaller/medium romas, a small white onion, about 1 1 /2 peppers, just a bit of dried cilantro, lemon juice....and I pretty much pureed it in the blender so it's smooth. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was great salsa! It tasted even better two days later! I used fresh garlic, as I did not have garlic powder. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States