Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This is very tasty and very easy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This is one of the best salsa recipes I've tried. If you follow the recipe as is it's spicy. If you use one jalapeno and one Tbsp. hot sauce it's medium. If you omit the jalapeno and hot sauce it's mild. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This came out very watery & too hot (even though I only used only one jalapeno). There are too many onions in this recipe & not enough tomatoes. If I were to make this again I would hand chop the vegetables to make the salsa more chunky & use only half of a jalapeno. I used a food processor and this salsa came out a watery green mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I love no-cook salsa, and loved this recipe. I decided to finely chop everything by hand, and it turned out fabulously. Likely I and the person who made a "green mess" don't have the proper pulsing feature on our blenders. Great stuff and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I love this recipe, it is easy and it has both the up front heat and the lingering heat that salsa lovers crave! If you follow the instructions and seed the tomatoes it will not seem watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe is amazing. Some advice: If you have the time, pulse the tomatoes and chop other ingredients by hand. Also, let the tomatoes sit in fridge for an hour before adding other ingredients and then drain the water off of the top (they're tomatoes...they will get watery), then add remaining ingredients. If your concerned about heat (the hotter the better for me), add jalapenos and hot sauce until desired spiciness. I love this recipe as is. Thanks J-Shep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
this is one of the best salsa recipes i have found. i can make it quick and have it ready for the party. i recommend letting it set for an hour in the refrigerator and draining some of the water off the top of it before adding the other ingredients. i like it because it reminds me of the salsa from my favorite mexican resturant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I thought this was a great starter recipe. But next time, I would let the tomatoes drain in the frigde for a while before adding the other ingredients so that the salsa didn't get so runny. Also, it was a bit too much cilantro for me and not enough tomatoes. Next time I would double the tomatoes and half the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe is great. I took the other reviewer's suggestions and let the tomatoes sit in the refridgerator for an hour then drained the tomato juice off the top before adding the other ingredients. A drained can of tomatos may work also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Really good. Tried with & without peppers and both ways are great. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States