Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great recipe. I always hand dice the tomatoes and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Very good recipie! Yum! Puts shame to store-bought salsas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Wow. That is definitely spicy. I wish I could give this a 3.5, because it wasn't my favorite as written, but it could be quite adaptable. I cut back on the green onions as well because I thought it would be too much for us (I only put in 5, and both my husband and I thought the onion flavor was still too overwhelming). But I do like the flavor of it, so I think next time I'll only put in one green onion and not put it in the food processor (we thought it was too potent chopped in there) along with some sweet onion instead for the texture. I also only put in one jalopeno, and not as much hot sauce, and less salt and pepper because I knew it would just be too hot for us. Thanks for the great recipe! I plan on adjusting it to our tastes and making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
LOVED IT!!! I used it in the 7 layer dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I really liked this recipie it was very tasty and semi-easy to make. I found that there seemed to be too many green onions in the recipie so I cut the number of green onions down to four. I would also suggest cutting down the salt and pepper by half. I also only used one jalopeno and it was plenty spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Whoa Nelly! As a person who is used to spicy and always orders the hottest number of spice a restaurant offers - I nearly burnt my mouth off with this stuff! I only added one jalapeno pepper (with seeds) so I didn't think it would be that hot. I don't think this recipe needs the extra hot sauce! I also agree with some of the other reviews that it was salty and had too much cilantro. I love cilantro but it made the salsa really green so it was a bit overpowering. I don't think it needs any salt or garlic powder especially if you are using chips with salt already on them. I will give it 3 stars because I was able to tone down the heat with more tomato and lime juice and was good because it was fresh. But I will have to change up the recipe if I was to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
For us this had way too much salt even after I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours. The taste is absolutely wonderful once you get past the salty taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This recipe was a hit with everyone that has tried it. We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I found this to be good, but not great. I would add lots more spice, regular onions and some other things to make it have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This was very good. I made it to accompany tacos and fahitas. My only comment is that I found the cilantro a little overpowering. I would make this again but I would cut the cilatro in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States