Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is fabulous salsa. I like a medium consistency salsa so I pureed half the veggies and diced the other half so I had some chunks still in it. The half of the tomatoes I diced I also drained so it wouldn't be too runny. Next time I will use a serrano or habanero pepper because even with 3 jalapenos it wasn't spicy enough for my tastes. This salsa was still fabulous, even though next time I would only salt and pepper to taste as I found what the recipe called for might be a little on the heavy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Great Tasting Salsa! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This recipe is amazing. Some advice: If you have the time, pulse the tomatoes and chop other ingredients by hand. Also, let the tomatoes sit in fridge for an hour before adding other ingredients and then drain the water off of the top (they're tomatoes...they will get watery), then add remaining ingredients. If your concerned about heat (the hotter the better for me), add jalapenos and hot sauce until desired spiciness. I love this recipe as is. Thanks J-Shep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Great base recipe for salsa. The advice that many gave to drain the tomatoes in the fridge before adding the rest of the other ingredients was very helpful. Instead of garlic powder, I used 1 fresh garlic clove. For an extra "zing" I substituted the 2 jalapenos with 1 habanero (I used red savina, but any habanero should do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I love this recipe, it is easy and it has both the up front heat and the lingering heat that salsa lovers crave! If you follow the instructions and seed the tomatoes it will not seem watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe is great. I took the other reviewer's suggestions and let the tomatoes sit in the refridgerator for an hour then drained the tomato juice off the top before adding the other ingredients. A drained can of tomatos may work also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Really good. Tried with & without peppers and both ways are great. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Very good, I received a lot of compliments. I think I will be making this a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This is a great fresh salsa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I love no-cook salsa, and loved this recipe. I decided to finely chop everything by hand, and it turned out fabulously. Likely I and the person who made a "green mess" don't have the proper pulsing feature on our blenders. Great stuff and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States