Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. Others said it was too salty but I found there wasn't enough salt, I had to add extra. I love cooking with cilantro, but there was just way too much in this. End result, it was okay but I have had better. Maybe white onions would have helped, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The store was out of green onions, so I used 1 (small) white onion and 1 (small) red onion instead. I also only used 1.5 jalapenos because my roommate and boyfriend don't like spicy food as much as I do. I thought it was really good, but my roommate thought it was too spicy (she blended some sweet tomatoes into hers). It made a lot of salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I love hot, spicy food and this was very spicy. My only problem was that the recipes has too much cilantro. I would put half of the amount in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I thought this could have been better. It was to spicy for me, and a bunch of men. And I only used one jalepeno. I think my bigger conflict was that there were too many green onions in it. Next time I will cut them in half. And use a little more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
We love this salsa, we add a bit more fresh garlic, our own cherry tomatoes to some roma tomatoes. My husband is not a fan of hot stuff, and the 2 tablespoons hot sauce seems okay for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this recipe for a dinner, there were no leftovers. I didn't use roma tomatoes, but ones from my garden (Jet Stars). I defiantly needed to drain them. Loved the cilantro and will use fresh garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! Although, I made it for my BF and I and I thought enough for 16 would be way toomuch, so I cut it in half and figured I'd save some for another day. That did not happen. It barely made like 1/2 cup salsa. Bummer! I will make this again, but I'll make enough for 40 and see how that goes. Other than that it was a great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was good. I used 3 roma tomatoes and two regular tomatoes. I did not add the hot pepper sauce, but will use franks red hot sauce next time to make it spicier. Also, I used over a half cup of cilantro, and it really complimented the tomatoes and hot pepper nicely. Instead of garlic powder, I used Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipe was quick and easy. I changed a couple of things. First,the tomatoes need to be drained of their liquid,or the Salsa will be watery. Second,unless you like HOT,and I do mean HOT Salsa,you will need to take the seeds out of your jalapeno pepper. Please use plastic gloves,or if no gloves you can use baggies over your hands,before you remove the seeds. You do not want to cut into this pepper without your hands protected as the juice WILL get into your skin and BURN whatever skin it comes into contact with. Also, I used Uncle Franks Hot Sauce. It is the best. Thanks for sharing,Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was pretty good, but I think next time I'll use fresh garlic instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States