Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! Although, I made it for my BF and I and I thought enough for 16 would be way toomuch, so I cut it in half and figured I'd save some for another day. That did not happen. It barely made like 1/2 cup salsa. Bummer! I will make this again, but I'll make enough for 40 and see how that goes. Other than that it was a great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was good. I used 3 roma tomatoes and two regular tomatoes. I did not add the hot pepper sauce, but will use franks red hot sauce next time to make it spicier. Also, I used over a half cup of cilantro, and it really complimented the tomatoes and hot pepper nicely. Instead of garlic powder, I used Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipe was quick and easy. I changed a couple of things. First,the tomatoes need to be drained of their liquid,or the Salsa will be watery. Second,unless you like HOT,and I do mean HOT Salsa,you will need to take the seeds out of your jalapeno pepper. Please use plastic gloves,or if no gloves you can use baggies over your hands,before you remove the seeds. You do not want to cut into this pepper without your hands protected as the juice WILL get into your skin and BURN whatever skin it comes into contact with. Also, I used Uncle Franks Hot Sauce. It is the best. Thanks for sharing,Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was pretty good, but I think next time I'll use fresh garlic instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Not bad. I was pretty disappointed though. Think I would have prefered regular onions instead of the green onion-found them overpowering. Actually was a little bland, seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I had a craving for chips & salsa. This recipe was fast and very easy. It is alittle watery. I took the advice from previous people and only put 1 jalapeno and 1 tsp hot sauce. Next time I will add more heat not spicy enough yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This salsa was way too watery for our liking. We also didn't like the taste of all those green onions and cilantro. Overall, everyone was disappointed with the flavor of this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I love this salsa! I have made this 4 times already. I took it to a work potluck this week and got many requests for the recipe. As others mentioned, it can be get a little watery. After I seed the tomatoes and chop them in my food processor, I let them sit in a strainer while I do the rest of the work. This helps make it less watery. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
The ony thing I will change next time it the amount of cilantro. Other than that it was really good; chunky and really SPICY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Made this for a party of 60 people, everyone loved it; lots of compliments. I kept hearing..."who made that salsa???". I was surprised there were no white onions in it, but was happy to figure out that the GREEN onions are what make it taste "restaurant style". This will be my go-to salsa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States