Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is our favourite salsa recipe ever. I just chop up all the ingredients, I don't put in the blender or food processor, it's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I just made this. It's okay right now, but I made this ahead of time to blend the flavors before I serve it to guests tonight. WARNING - go easy on the hot sauce! I didn't even add the jalapenos and only 1 tablespoon of habanero Tabasco sauce & it's SUPER SPICY. Maybe it's the type of Tabasco that I used, but I LOVE super spicy food, but this was too much for eating with only chips, although it might be okay in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did like this recipe but I made some changes. I don't like the skin on the tomatoes so I blanched them to remove the skin. I used 2 very large tomatoes & 1/2 red onion, 1 Tbsp of lime juice, 2 cloves of garlic & 1 tsp of cumin. We also heated ours after blending it on the stove to bring some more flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. The 1st time I made it I followed it exactly and it was ok. But the 2nd time I used fresh garlic cloves instead of the powder and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
The day I made this I thought it was missing something but I wasn't sure what. I tried it the next day though and it was so much better. Let it sit for a while so the flavors can come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. Others said it was too salty but I found there wasn't enough salt, I had to add extra. I love cooking with cilantro, but there was just way too much in this. End result, it was okay but I have had better. Maybe white onions would have helped, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
The store was out of green onions, so I used 1 (small) white onion and 1 (small) red onion instead. I also only used 1.5 jalapenos because my roommate and boyfriend don't like spicy food as much as I do. I thought it was really good, but my roommate thought it was too spicy (she blended some sweet tomatoes into hers). It made a lot of salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I love hot, spicy food and this was very spicy. My only problem was that the recipes has too much cilantro. I would put half of the amount in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I thought this could have been better. It was to spicy for me, and a bunch of men. And I only used one jalepeno. I think my bigger conflict was that there were too many green onions in it. Next time I will cut them in half. And use a little more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
We love this salsa, we add a bit more fresh garlic, our own cherry tomatoes to some roma tomatoes. My husband is not a fan of hot stuff, and the 2 tablespoons hot sauce seems okay for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States