Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Everyone Loved this! I made exactly as written except for subbing 1 clove of garlic smashed for the garlic powder. I also let this sit in the fridge for about 6 hours before serving it. The longer it sat the spicier it got. I will definately be making this again. I may even make a big batch and can it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an excellent Spicy Salsa and it did indeed taste like a favorite restaurant salsa of ours. I'd been struggling for years to make salsa, and it just wasn't quite right. I must not have had the proportions right. But now my salsa worries are over. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Added about 2tbs of olive oil, 1tbs vinegar, and considerably cut back on spicy-ness (no black pepper, no jalapenos, only 1/2tsp of hot pepper sauce, because I'm a wimp when it comes to hotness :)). It turned out super delicious (still, pretty hot for me), better than the store bought, and I am planning to use this recipe again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Great salsa! used 1 jalapeño and 1 T. hot sauce for medium heat and it had a nice bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Amazingly good. Made this with some fresh peppers from a friends garden and super ripe tomatoes! What a winning recipe, I'll be making this a lot more. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Awesome salsa! Prepared as written, except used 4 green onions (they were huge) and used tapatio (mexican hot sauce). Two TBSP of hot sauce and was quite spicy. Jalapeno's I used were disappointly mild. FANTASTIC RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I used 1/2 of a large sweet onion and left out the hot sauce. I also used 2 cloves of garlic and it was very good. I was trying to find a great salsa on here and this is very close. I used only one jalapeno and I was sorry I did.....I had to add another to get the heat we are used to. I didn't seed them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Wonderful flavor. Used only 1 pepper as that is all I had, but thought it perfect. Added just a squeeze more of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
HEAT LEVEL EXPLAINED: The majority of the heat of a pepper is contained in the seeds and the veins. To reduce the amount of heat, seed and devein the peppers. Or use the whole pepper for more heat. Also, each pepper's heat content will be different depending on the variety, the field, soil, fertilizer, rainfall, etc. Just like tomatoes. You can buy several jalapenos, (or any kind of pepper) then compare when you get home. Some may be extremely hot, some mild, some medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States