Jen's Fresh and Spicy Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a good salsa recipe! I modified it a little. I only used one jalapeno (seeds and all) and it was SPICY! And I'm someone that puts Tobasco sauce on EVERYTHING. So beware. I also skipped adding extra heat with a hot sauce skipped the cilantro (not into the soapy taste). I'm looking forward to playing with the recipe a little bit...maybe add some tomatillos. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I think that next time I will use canned tomatoes, because they are not in season right now, the taste was good but my husband didn't like the green onions, so we're going to to white next time. Don't blend it too long, then it gets frothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Super Yum! Everyone loves it, every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved it! My husband made it and we let it chill overnight, then ate it in one sitting. Definitely need to double the recipe next time--thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Great salsa recipe. I use 3 more tomato, fresh garlic ( no powder), and 1/2 the recommended cilantro, but that's a personal preference. Depending on the jalapeno size, I use 1 or 2 to kick the heat up. I also add red pepper flake in a pinch. The texture is great and can be drained a bit if it's too watery for your liking. Easy to toss it all in my processor and pulse it till it's perfect. LOVE LOVE LOVE that there is no strong onion taste with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I did tweak this a little, added in 3 cloves of fresh garlic in place of the powder, and some cumin. I also used a shallot instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Fantastic as is...if you love some kick. Plus, easy to adjust by changing the peppers and the sauce to tame it down or rock it out with fire. I used some habanero peppers, along with Tabasco Brand Habanero Sauce...WOW amazingly flavorful and with a heat level that all of us had to comment on. There are never any leftovers, no matter what heat level. I am going to make a 10x batch and can using tomatoes & peppers from our garden for salsa all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raskemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Lynn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
The flavor laced throughout this salsa is very good. I'm still looking for that restaurant style salsa without the blended consistency though. Other than that, this is a great salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used one jalapeno, a few fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and went easy on the salt. I love it when I can make salsa at home, it beats the pants off the prepackaged stuff. The family thought this salsa was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
On a recent trip to the States in June this year had some wonderful mexican food and loved all the salsa, I recreated this thru your recipe last night - for some reason my supermarket in Australia didnt have any hot sauce (not even tobasco!) so I put in an extra chilli (left seeds in) and added a bit more cracked pepper. So very very good - we love it hot & love this recipe, its a keeper :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States