Jenny's Sweet Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I'll be the first to rate this recipe as simply delicious! I have been trying to find a waldorf salad recipe that is tart and sweet and not too mayonaissey tasting... This is it! I found it! I added 1/2 c of walnuts for some more crunch and cut back on the cinnamon. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very tasty! BUT I wanted it to be healthier and am trying to incorporate more fruit into my day. SO, I omitted the sugars completely. I substituted 1 lowfat vanilla yogurt and 1 fat free coconut cream yogurt for the plain yogurt, mayo and sugars. I did blend in a little mayo. The flavor was very good and I didn't have the fat - and way less sugar. So mine is definitely for the health-conscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was a perfect combination of savory and sweet. I made it for thanksgiving dinner at the in-laws, and everyone enjoyed it. I used walnuts instead of almonds. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Sweeter than than the classic Waldorf. I left out the raisins. I loved the dressing, but I only used 1/2 to 2/3 of it. I would suggest starting with less and adding more to suit your taste. The cinnamon added a perfect touch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Yummy!! I was a little hesitant using mayonnaise and yogurt. But OMG! So delicious. I used vanilla yogurt and added some dried cherries instead of raisins. Very good and refreshing on a hot summer evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Wow - what a great recipe! I went out on a limb and added some thinly sliced cabbage to it as my celery was looking a little wimpy...Oh and I also just noticed that I forgot the white sugar. (Obviously the recipe is bulletproof if you can tweak it that much and still have it turn out great - my apologies to you purists out there who get grouchy when people review recipes they don't follow to a tee.) The dressing itself tastes fabulous and the addition of the yogurt allows you claim that its 'healthy'! Thanks for a great addition to my recipe box, Jenny! I will definitely make this again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was very good, but I ended up making changes. Store had no granny smiths, so I used braeburn. I had walnuts on hand, so used those instead of almonds. I cut back the amount of cranberries by 1/2. I also cut back the amount of dressing by about 1/2 and it was still plenty. I also slightly cut back the amount of sugars and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This salad turned out great! However, I used the recipe more as general guidelines than strict instructions. I used 5 small/medium Fuji apples, two large stalks of celery, 1.5 cups of grapes, and 1 cup of dried cranberries. I left out the pear and raisins and used 3/4 cup of walnuts instead of the almonds. I followed the dressing instructions fairly closely except that I used fat-free mayo and reduced all the ingredients by around 1/3. (I also tossed the chopped apples with the lemon juice so they wouldn't brown.) I appreciate a recipe that can be tinkered with this much and still turn out so delicious. The cinnamon was a great touch. The salad was almost too sweet, so I'd recommend taking care with the sugar, especially if you use the full amount of raisins and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Also used cut walnuts with the slivered almonds. Used vanilla yogurt instead of plan, added sweetness. This recipe made loads, had spare dressing and mixture after 1 big bowl made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this for a dinner of thirty people and the best part is the fact that you can change the number of servings and it changes the recipe. I used Walnuts instead of almonds…I’m wishing I would of used the almonds, I mixed my grapes half red, half white and also added Gala apples as well as the others. This pretty much liked by everyone and I should of printed out the recipe to share. I think it would be great with chicken added and served on a crescent for a special luncheon. This was a great recipe!!!! Will definitely make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States