Jenny's Sweet Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I'll be the first to rate this recipe as simply delicious! I have been trying to find a waldorf salad recipe that is tart and sweet and not too mayonaissey tasting... This is it! I found it! I added 1/2 c of walnuts for some more crunch and cut back on the cinnamon. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was a perfect combination of savory and sweet. I made it for thanksgiving dinner at the in-laws, and everyone enjoyed it. I used walnuts instead of almonds. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My husband wanted a Waldorf Salad for Thanksgiving day and decided this on Wednesday night (and we were having 30 people over). Well, all recipes is where I turn to when I want to quickly find a recipe. This one sounded yummy except I didn't have any walnuts left but I did have plenty of pinon nuts. Well, I followed the recipe but added the pinon nuts. Another thing I did was I left out the rasins and used red seedless grapes instead of the green. Come the end of the turkey dinner and we barely had any salad left for the next day. Thanks for a good recipe...this one is a keeper. Everyone liked it, especially the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Sweeter than than the classic Waldorf. I left out the raisins. I loved the dressing, but I only used 1/2 to 2/3 of it. I would suggest starting with less and adding more to suit your taste. The cinnamon added a perfect touch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Everyone in the family likes it. I forgot the almonds and it still tasted great. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Yummy!! I was a little hesitant using mayonnaise and yogurt. But OMG! So delicious. I used vanilla yogurt and added some dried cherries instead of raisins. Very good and refreshing on a hot summer evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Wow - what a great recipe! I went out on a limb and added some thinly sliced cabbage to it as my celery was looking a little wimpy...Oh and I also just noticed that I forgot the white sugar. (Obviously the recipe is bulletproof if you can tweak it that much and still have it turn out great - my apologies to you purists out there who get grouchy when people review recipes they don't follow to a tee.) The dressing itself tastes fabulous and the addition of the yogurt allows you claim that its 'healthy'! Thanks for a great addition to my recipe box, Jenny! I will definitely make this again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very tasty! BUT I wanted it to be healthier and am trying to incorporate more fruit into my day. SO, I omitted the sugars completely. I substituted 1 lowfat vanilla yogurt and 1 fat free coconut cream yogurt for the plain yogurt, mayo and sugars. I did blend in a little mayo. The flavor was very good and I didn't have the fat - and way less sugar. So mine is definitely for the health-conscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
The first time I made this I used cottage cheese (that I pulsed in the blender) instead of yogurt, cause that is what I had on hand. It came out very well, but was a little too sweet for our tastes. The second time I made it (which was this past weekend) I omitted the golden raisins and substituted red for green grapes. Then I used a 1/4 cup yogurt, a 1/4 cup mayo, a half a lemon juiced and a sprinkle of white sugar (possibly 1 Tbsp). It was perfect! Thank you Jenny for sharing your twist on a Waldorf! Great way to use Asian pears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is certainly a different take on Waldorf salad. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States