Jenny's Sweet Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Great Recipe!! Very simple and it looks great too. I made it exactly as listed and added some red grapes. I made it about 4 hours ahead of time so the fruit would chill in a separate bowl, and the dressing chilled in another. Family and special visitors loved it. I did pay attention to the many reviews that indicated too much dressing. I simply put the dressing in a small pitcher and let everyone pour it on their own serving and mix it in. Some opted to go without dressing. This approach worked perfectly. I do agree, it would have been way too much liquid for the fruit if I had poured it all into the serving bowl. This way, the leftover fruit will keep much better as well. The leftover dressing - it is soo yummy. It is going on oatmeal in the morning. Next time, the only thing I will change is to eliminate the pear, and add a variety of apples since my husband, who doesn't like pears at all, was able to detect it in the mix (I thought he would miss it!). Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Delicious, easy and fast! It was a bit too sweet ( and I have a sweet tooth) so next time I would cut back on the sugars and the mayo....there seemed to be a lot of dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I love this version of a waldorf salad. I don't like quite that much dressing, so I cut it back by about 1/3. I added pecans, because they are what I already had. I also substituted a red pear, because I couldn't find an asian pear. If you are making this the night before, save the marshmallows to add shortly before serving as they will melt overnight in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I was looking for a little extra for my meal last night and tried this. It was fabulous. I was feeding 5 children, 3 teens, and 5 adults. One of the children really turned up his nose when he saw it, so I told him to just touch it with his finger and taste and if he didn't like it, the others could have more. As soon as he tasted it, his eye lit up and he said, "Grandma, is this dessert!?!" The only change I made, was the use of vanilla yogurt since I didn't have plain. I think I will continue to use vanilla. VERY good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is great, but try this. Instead of Yogurt.....take 1 cup of whipping cream, whip it in a blender until it is stiff then add 3 tablespoons of powdered sugar to the rest. Its really sweet and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
this is NOT your mother's waldorf salad. This is so good! I used vanilla yogurt. This says that it makes 8 servings...but it makes a LOT, and I only used 2 apples. A recipe has to be really wonderful for me to take the time to review it! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Awesome salad - great for someone who likes Waldorf salad but isn't a fan of mayo. I followed another user's suggestion and used cottage cheese instead of the yogurt (because that's what I had on hand). When I blended it I added a little milk to get the right consistency and help blend the curds. I also added some halved red grapes and a few extra slivered almonds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was very good, but I ended up making changes. Store had no granny smiths, so I used braeburn. I had walnuts on hand, so used those instead of almonds. I cut back the amount of cranberries by 1/2. I also cut back the amount of dressing by about 1/2 and it was still plenty. I also slightly cut back the amount of sugars and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this for a dinner of thirty people and the best part is the fact that you can change the number of servings and it changes the recipe. I used Walnuts instead of almonds…I’m wishing I would of used the almonds, I mixed my grapes half red, half white and also added Gala apples as well as the others. This pretty much liked by everyone and I should of printed out the recipe to share. I think it would be great with chicken added and served on a crescent for a special luncheon. This was a great recipe!!!! Will definitely make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I thought this would be perfect for fall with all of the fruits in season. I read most of the reviews and would agree that there is too much sauce. I cut the amount in half and still had more than enough. I also agree that the combination of ingredients make for a strange mix of flavors. While it was o.k. for hubby and I to have as a side with lunch, it's nothing that I would serve if I were entertaining guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States