Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Really good. It tasted more like a chicken bog made in the south than a jambalaya. Used beef smoked sausage. Also cooked the chicken in the chicken broth prior to pouring it all together for the final simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I thought this was easy to make and had some great flavors. The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is because it is lacking spice. I added Cajun and Creol seasoning plus twice the amount of hot sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent! Hubby loved it. Could have used more spice, but good to add later so kids could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was great. I think its one of those recipes that you can use as a guide and then use what ever you have on had. I happened to have organic chorizo sausages, so I cooked them on high then added the chicken chunks. When that was done I took the meat out and then added the onion to the pan. Followed the rest, just used rotel because thats all I had on hand and we like it spicy. I made it on ths stove top instead of an electric pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
We found this very tasty; I found it very easy to make. I was looking for something to cook that would incorporate chicken and sausage. I cooked an onion and 2 garlic cloves in olive oil in a dutch oven on the stove, then added a diced pepper then removed to a plate; I then cooked the chicken and sausage through. Added the onion, garlic and pepper back, along with 2 cans tomatoes, the rice (brown)and chx broth salt, pepper, several shakes of Franks, chili powder, cayenne, brought to a boil then simmered for approx 40 minutes. Will be making again. Quite filling and yummy with a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made a few additions: zucchini, yellow squash, paprika, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes - It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made a few minor changes. Didn't use an electric skillet, just used a regular one on the stove. Also, left the juice in the tomatoes, and a couple more drops of hotsauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Stupid recipe. Now I can never truly enjoy jambalaya from a box again... ;) This was delicious! I sort of ignored the portion amounts and just put in the meat I had available and diced instead of cubed tomatoes. I do not have an electric skillet, so I cooked everything on my skillet and then transferred it into a pot, added the rice and broth, brought it to boiling and let it simmer for 25 minutes. This was delicious! This is definitely a good guideline for a great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Quick and easy and very tasty, best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good! If you are cooking for just 2 you can easily cut the recipe in half as the shrimp doesn't keep very long. Great flavor and it's easy to make and control the spice level. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States